The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Flight Tour of Denali- Part 2 August 1, 2015

Hello all!  This will be part 2 of the adventure of my flight tour of Denali.  When I left you last we were headed for the glacier landing.  Again, I took a video of our landing on the glacier, which I hope to be able to post at some point, but right now internet is not too cooperative.  Anyway.  The landing was pretty bumpy.  If you actually watch the video you will be absolutely certain I am about to die.  But I didn’t.  We landed safely and piled out.  The pilot had told us from the beginning that there were a few men who had been working on a structure called Mountain House that had been built there by famed Alaska pilot Don Sheldon, or someone associated with him, and we were going to be picking up these men and their equipment at the glacier landing, which meant we were actually going to have just a little bit longer stop on the glacier than we normally would have.  Yay, us!

*

So we all got out of the plane, and right away I discovered my lovely overboots, meant to keep my shoes and pants legs all nice and dry…were pointless.  The terrain was not as I expected.  I was thinking more of a solid surface with a covering of snow, like what you’d find on a mountain, like a ski field or something.  Clearly I wasn’t really thinking straight.  We were actually landing on a glacier.  Maybe what I expected was that the glacier would be frozen harder, but it wasn’t, at least on top.  What I’m saying is, I sank in slushy snow up to above my knees if I stood in one spot too long.  I am ashamed to say, I let this little fact make me somewhat crabby.  I felt embarrassed because I was the only one who was having this problem.  You get where I’m going with this?

*

So anyway.  I took a few steps and sunk down, floundered around and got back on my feet again, took a few steps and here we went again.  One person finally gave me a hand to help me up about the third time I went down, but by this time I was pretty annoyed.  I tried not to let it ruin my experience.  After all, for what could be the one and only time in my life, I am standing on a freakin’ glacier, for cryin’ out loud!  So I tried to look around, take pictures, asked someone to take a picture of me by the plane.  Tried to breathe in the cool air and make it a good memory.  Meanwhile, the pilot was reconfiguring the seats and helping the men who had been working on Mountain House to load their gear.  I was more than ready to get back on the plane and was able to do so, despite the high step and my slippery boots and wet pants and lack of convenient place to grab onto for leverage.

*

We took off again and headed back to Talkeetna.  The views were still amazing, and the trip back seemed to take much less time than the trip there, naturally.  I was struck by the fact that you expect snow-covered glaciers to be white and pristine, but as you can see from the photos, a lot of the glaciers were brownish and muddy.  I tried to capture pictures of the bright blue of the glacier, but never felt the pictures did justice to the amazing actual color.  So indescribable!

*

We landed back at the airstrip and disembarked.  I claimed my purse and headed back to the lodge, trying to process the experience I’d just been privileged to have. It was beautiful and amazing, despite the little moments that I unfortunately allowed to detract from it.  I was blessed to be able to take that flight, and whether or not it ends up being the one time I ever do a tour like that, it will always be special.

image

Ski tracks! Or rather airplane wheel tracks!

image

This was a Native lady who had lived in Alaska for years and this was her first time to do this. She and her husband were interesting to listen to, and she rode in the co-pilot’s seat on the way there.

image

Glacier Selfie!!! 🙂

image

People on other planes had somehow brought sleds and were sliding down the hill.

image

image

One of the Mountain House workers.

image

image

It’s me again, Margaret!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This is a sign we always see on our way back to the lodge from Talkeetna. It just always makes me think about staying in Alaska and which way I would choose to go if I could.

*

*

Thank you all for reading and sharing my adventures with me.  Lots more still to come- my Sun Dog kennel tour is up next, and I think on my next day off I am going to do the Chulitna River Float tour, so look for that.  It’s still amazing to think that today is August 1st and there are still almost 7 weeks left.  I am looking forward to the State Fair, which runs from August 27 to September 7.  The lodge is supposed to running at least three shuttles there for employees during that time.  Can’t wait!

*

Until next time,

D.

 

 

Leave a Reply

