The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

My Flight Tour of Denali- The Great One! July 29, 2015

Hello again.  Ok, I know it’s long overdue.  The next couple of posts will be covering the big adventure I had been looking forward to:  my flight tour around Mt. McKinley.  The date was June 21, Father’s Day.  I had a day off and was able to book a flight for 3:00 in the afternoon.  It was a very pretty day, mostly sunny, and pretty perfect temperature.  The company that Princess uses for their guest tours is called K2 Aviation.

image

*

I went and checked in with the front desk, then was told to pick out my overboots for the glacier landing, which were about as lovely and fashionable as the boots I was sporting on my first tour here, my Talkeetna river float trip with Spiff.

image

*

We waited for quite a while, but that was ok with me because I had found today’s technology nirvana: a place to plug in my phone and charge it. 🙂  I had brought my little regular camera with me, but I take almost all my photos with my phone up here because for right now, I don’t have a way to share the ones I take with that camera.  Finally the pilot came through and called us all outside.  I had placed my purse in a safety locker, because I decided I didn’t need it on the plane and heaven knows I didn’t want to add any more weight!  We walked out to the hangars where there were lots of little planes.  I was hoping ours would be yellow, but we ended up heading for this one:

image

*

The pilot gave us the whys and wherefores and what to do and not do, and so forth.  I was the 5th wheel again, just like I was on the wagon ride tour- there were two couples on the flight, once again much older than I. We chose our seats and got our headphones on.  It was pretty exciting.

You don't have to tell me how cute I look.  I know. :)

You don’t have to tell me how cute I look. I know. 🙂

*

Then we taxied out and got ready to take off.  I took a video, which I hope to be able to upload at some point, but the internet here is a little wonky and it never seems to let me upload videos.  So we took off, and it was a much smoother experience than I had expected.  The land was beautiful.  Some of the pictures I took of the winding rivers and streams below us were because they reminded me of the abstract art paintings of a friend of mine:

image

*

Soon we began to get to the glaciers and the snow, and from there on it was just amazement:

image

imageimage

imageimage

image

*

*

*

And unbelievable beauty…

image

image

image

image

Soon we were headed for the much anticipated glacier landing!

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

I will post the rest of the pictures and summarize the experience in a second post.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

D.
*
*
*
*
*

Edited to Add:  Video is uploaded!

 

Leave a Reply

