The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

New and Unexpected May 11, 2015

Filed under: Alaska Summer,Freaky Happenings — DDKlingonGirl @ 10:27 am
Tags: , ,

Hello, all!  Life continues here at Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge.  Yesterday was my first day to actually see my work area, which as you may remember is the Gift Shop.  It was a long, busy day, stocking, placing bar code stickers, practicing with the register.  We had a lot of fun with that last part.  Most of the girls I will be working with have been here for several days already, and I felt like I had a lot to catch up on.  But we were practicing on the register, and we were trying to trip each other up.  “Can you suspend that sale for a second?  I forgot to get something for Great Aunt Gertrude?” “I want 20 of these, for all my Asian relatives.”  “What is this made of?  Is this REALLY an Alaskan product?”  “Which of these scarves goes best with my skin?”  “Why are the prices so high!?” “Can I charge that to my room?  Well why NOT!?”  But my favorite was when I pretended to be the other girl’s child: “Mommy, Mommy, Mommy, buy me this!  Why not?!  I’m going to sit right here in the floor until you buy me that!  Nooooooo!!! I don’t wanna go back to the room!”

*

It was awesome.  There are about 10 employees in the gift shop, not including managers.  What is really helpful to me is that we are all different ages.  Basically what I’m saying is that I don’t have to work with all fresh-out-of-high-school college kids and feel like on OLD lady.  Several of the other ladies are older than I, and they are a lot of fun.  One lady reminds me of one of my aunts.  She’s very funny.  But it was a very long, tiring day.  We were all absolutely dragging by the time we clocked out for supper.

*

I got my uniform yesterday.  It is a long sleeved, blue button down shirt, fleece vest, and small black apron.  The pants, socks, and shoes were our responsibility to bring from home.  I had bought some pants from Walmart that were a little on the tight side, especially in my freakishly large thighs, and after 3 days of climbing these hills… yeah, they’re already loose.  SCORE!!! 🙂

An abbreviated glimpse at the uniform. Hi! :)

An abbreviated glimpse at the uniform. Hi! 🙂

*

Today we are doing what we call ‘dry runs’ which is where we use all the fellow employees as guinea pigs to test our job readiness.  We were all assigned to eat our meals in the guest restaurants, free for us today only, so that the staff could practice before the lodge opens for guests, which by the way is Wednesday! My breakfast assignment was at the 20,320 Alaskan Grill, which is the upscale dining venue here.  And… I had reindeer sausage for the first time.  It was pretty good, not a lot different from a polish sausage, maybe a little more texture.  Another interesting feature of this ‘dry run’ endeavor was that we were assigned to sit at tables with other people so that they had practice with parties of different sizes.  So I had breakfast with two people I’d never met before.  That was interesting.  Both my table mates were in their early twenties, but we had a nice breakfast.

Yum!

Yum!

*

I had gotten up way too early, and there was some confusion as to whether we were supposed to wear our uniforms to breakfast or not.  Our manager had told us yesterday that today was the first day we were to wear them to work, and to go ahead and wear them to breakfast, but then I was told that my work shift for today isn’t until 2:30.  So I had the impression that I probably didn’t have to wear my uniform to breakfast, but I did it anyway.  Just to be on the safe side.

*

Having a roommate for the first time in years is taking some getting used to.  We are always trying to be super quiet for each other and I’m afraid it’s going to get old quickly, feeling like I’m always on guard, trying to be as polite and inoffensive as possible.  My roomie is nice, don’t get me wrong.  She’s been perfectly polite and amiable, just not particularly warm and friendly.  She’s not one of the ‘fresh out of high school’ variety, but she’s not my age either. I’m hoping we’ll get more used to each other, but right now it feels like she doesn’t like me very much.  Of course, I do still SNORE, apparently! 😦  So embarrassed about that, and it’s hard to feel like you’re resting well when you’re worried that your roommate is lying awake wishing she had the guts to smother you with a pillow in your sleep.

*

Also, I don’t have any hangers in my room yet, and I haven’t had time to reorganize my things, so it feels like living out of a suitcase, and I’d really rather that NOT be my life for the next four months.  Four months.  Wow.  Part of me can barely envision the reality of being there that long.  I’ve only been here for four days and looking at the weeks and months ahead feels surreal.

*

Speaking of surreal, get a load of this.  One of the girls I work with was wearing a necklace yesterday that read, “Keep Calm and Write On.”  When I noticed it, I had to ask the obvious question:  Oh, are you a writer?  She said she was an aspiring writer, so I told her I write also, told her I am a poet, and then I said, “And I have this blog I write, called …” and I named my blog, and she goes, “Oh my gosh! I’ve read your blog!  I feel like I’m meeting a celebrity!”  And she shook my hand and we got all squeal-y for a bit. It turns out she just likes to search random words and read a lot of different blogs, and she searched ‘Klingon’ and found me!  AND she said she thought mine was pretty good and she liked it.  So yeah, there’s your Incredible Coincidence of the Day.  It was a really fun moment though.

*

So now I’m off to tackle the hills back to my room for a while.  Since I was early for breakfast I took a few pictures this morning.  It was sunny and bright today, and you could actually see the mountain all the way to the top.  What a lot of people discover when they visit here is that on any given day you only have about a 30% chance of seeing the full mountain due to the clouds and atmospheric conditions and all of that.  So it’s nice knowing we’ll have all summer to see it.  It really is an amazing sight.  I’m assigned for lunch at the 20,320 again this afternoon and supper at the Mountain View Dining Room.  AND… we are also going to be assigned to sleep on one of the guest rooms tonight so the housekeeping staff can get their practice in.  Looking forward to that, I can promise you!

The main lodge building with the mountain in the background.

The main lodge building with the mountain in the background.

FullSizeRender

Here is is- the Mountain Itself!

*

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

