The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Welcome to Alaska!! May 8, 2015

Filed under: Alaska Summer — DDKlingonGirl @ 1:00 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hello all! Greetings from Anchorage, Alaska!  And so the adventure begins.

*

So far it has been all I had hoped.  I stepped off the plane and was greeted by a blast of cool air coming between the plane and the tunnel, and it just felt AWESOME!  My mother had called me just as we had stood up to deplane.  She said, “So where are you?!” And I had the excitement of telling her I was stepping off the plane, that very second!  It was pretty cool timing, if you ask me. 🙂

*

The trip to the airport was a disappointment that doesn’t bear repeating.  Suffice to say, my poor mother is a saint.  And DFW stinks! Construction was the biggest obstacle.  I would like to think that flying out of that place would be a pretty good experience if it weren’t being so extensively remodeled at the moment.

*

Anyway, the flights were very good.  The first leg was tough.  I cried a little, I won’t lie.  But what was really interesting was that just when I was starting to get pretty sad, I suddenly realized we were flying over mountains that had snow on them!  I assumed we must have been over Colorado, and sure enough, a little later the pilot announced that we had just flown over Telluride!

You can always count on me to be distracted by snow!

You can always count on me to be distracted by snow!

*

Another time when that happened, I was listening to my iTunes on shuffle, and I had just started getting weepy again when I heard the song “Someone” from the musical Young Frankenstein, and it made me think of one of my favorite theater friends from home, and how well he performed that song when Ardmore Little Theatre did that show, and all I could do was smile and laugh.  I’m sure if the flight attendant saw me, she probably thought I was dangerously unstable. I was flying first class, for the first time in my life.  It was nice.  That section of the plane wasn’t necessarily nicer or fancier, but being able to get through security faster and being able to board faster were EXTREMELY nice!  They offer meal service to all classes on Alaska Airlines, which is a nice touch.  On the way to Seattle they served a “Cuban sandwich” with chips and a candy from Seattle Chocolates.  It was margarita flavored, right down to the salt.  It was actually very good.

Fooooood!!!

Fooooood!!!

*

I had a fairly short layover in Seattle, and killed time in a little restaurant called, appropriately enough, Alaska! But boy was it expensive! I had a beverage and some soft pretzel breadsticks and it was $19!  But it was very good, so I just looked at it as a celebration of my journey thus far.  One thing that made me smile about the Seattle stop was that there were happy little yellow flowers growing all around the runways at SeaTac.  I’m sure they are a normal everyday flower there, but I felt like they were there to welcome me. 🙂

*

The layover was shorter than I had expected it to be, or at least it *felt* shorter.  In no time at all I was back on board another plane, delighting in the fact that the next time I put foot on the ground, I would be in ALASKA!  The second flight was much less emotional than the first.  It was very foggy most of the way, so I ended up watching a movie on one of their free entertainment devices.  It was a good way to kill time.  You may notice I didn’t mention anything about my seatmates.  On both flights, they were men, one a sporty looking guy who reminded me of a radio DJ from back home who passed away recently, and the other a businessman who alternated between sleeping and fiddling with his laptop.  Neither of them ever spoke to me.

*

Finally we landed, and even the airport was beautiful to me.  There are huge windows with mountains all around, and everything is shiny.  It was so satisfying to step off the plane and into that environment.  I shared a bit of conversation with a nice man in the baggage claim who blessed me and wished me well when I told him why I was there.  I claimed my bags, took a cab to the Westmark Hotel (the corporate stay-place) and have been resting and taking advantage of their wi-fi ever since.  That was one big disappointment on the flights- I thought we were supposed to get free wi-fi but I never could figure out how to get it to work.  But I managed to kill the time anyway.  🙂

*

I rested well and woke up pretty early.  I took a shower and took my time putting on makeup and getting all “purty” for my first day in Alaska.  Then I took my first Alaska Selfie from the balcony of my room and am now ready to explore a little before time to head out to the lodge.  I am so excited right now, except for knowing there is bad weather at home.  Love and blessings to all, keep me in your prayers, and stay tuned for more! Until next time, D.

From the balcony of the Westmark...Hello from Anchorage!

From the balcony of the Westmark…Hello from Anchorage!

 

Leave a Reply

