The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Letter N Through Letter T: Playing Catch-up On the A to Z April 23, 2014

Filed under: A-Z — DDKlingonGirl @ 10:16 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Neverending story

Hello all!  Man, this is the first time I’ve tried to do the A to Z challenge, and I have to say, I feel I’m failing spectacularly.  It’s never been an easy thing for me to write (or do anything else) every single day without fail.  But let me see if I can pull out another multi-letter post and catch up to where I’m supposed to be.  Hmmm, N through T.  I can do this.

*

N- Neverending Story

I loved this movie.  The first one, the original with Noah Hathaway and Barrett Oliver.  Holy cow, I thought Noah Hathaway was so cute back then!  I have a rather eclectic (some would say weird) taste in music, and the theme song from Neverending Story popped up on my iTunes playlist the other day.  I stopped to see who the artist was, and it didn’t even show in my library.  I don’t know where I downloaded that song from, but under ‘artist’ it just said Various Artists.  So… I Googled it.  Turns out it’s by an artist(s) called Limahl.  Here’s the video.  Just to give you a “neverending” earworm!  Also discovered in my search for nostalgia:  here’s Noah in his later years.  I never would have recognized him, but I can still see the little warrior he was.  He’s still kinda hawt, if you ask me.  If you want a good laugh, here’s an article with 9 Reasons Why Adults Should Never Watch Neverending Story.  I think the author may be a little nitpicky- I can still watch the show and enjoy it, but maybe I’m just weird like that.

*

O- Optimism

In general, I am an eternal optimist.  Some people think that’s a bad thing, others not so much.  In the short term, I can be pessimistic and negative, but when it comes to the long haul, I basically have faith that everything will work out ok.  Or… I just go around in my little bubble and don’t think about it too much.  Maybe that’s the secret to optimism?

*

P- PiYo

My exercise of choice recently has been a class my little sister teaches at a local gym.  The class is called PiYo.  It’s a combination of Pilates, Yoga, and other influences, but basically it’s all about increasing strength, stamina, and balance.  It’s no impact, but you still sweat like a pig.  At least I do.  Here’s my favorite video demonstrating what PiYo is.  Granted, I’m nowhere near that flexible or strong yet, but I’m getting there.  Yay for determination, right?

*

Q- Quench

You ever look at words until they start to look weird?  I do that sometimes.  You look at a word, maybe one you just wrote or typed, and you think, ‘Wait, is that right?  Is that spelled right?  That looks weird.’  And you look it up, and sure enough, you’ve spelled it correctly but you still can’t help sitting there staring at it and wondering why a word you have been able to spell since 4th grade suddenly looks so foreign.  Quench seems like that kind of a word to me today.  Just me?  Ok, then.

*

R- Regret

Life is too short to live with it.  Don’t.  Make good choices, and when you make bad choices, own them, accept them, learn from them, and move forward.  This message brought to you as a public service courtesy of The Klingon Woman’s Love Life.  🙂

*

S- Sizzle

Sizzle is another one of those weird-looking words I was talking about earlier, but it also connects with regret.  For some reason today, I am in the mood to preach the message of living your life with Sizzle.  That means allow your life to have electricity.  To have power.  To crackle with sensuality and beauty and all that other sexy stuff.  (Hey, look more “S” words!) But seriously.   My theory is that if you live your life with Sizzle, you probably won’t have Regret.  Ya think?

*

T-Time

Time.  Man, that stuff gets away from us.  My son will be 13 in two weeks.  I can’t believe it, but there it is.  He’s almost a teenager.  He’s awesome and awful and amazing and annoying, and I can barely remember when he was just a tiny baby.  We always think we’re going to remember those days forever, but we don’t.  So, again, connecting to the idea of regret, I would remind you to be aware of time.  Be aware of how fast it passes and what you are doing with it.  Unfortunately I am a terrible time waster, and also I have passed by many opportunities to spend quality time with my family, but all I can do is… what did I say above, under the topic of regret?  Own, accept, learn, and move forward.  So that is where I’m going to aim my little boat for now.  Move forward toward making the most of my time.

*

And there it is, folks.  My catch-up post for today.  Thanks for coming along with me on this journey.

*

Until next time,
D.

PS- Dig my clever rhyming title! 🙂  I almost never title the post until the end.

 

Leave a Reply

