The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Loving Life In No Uncertain Terms! August 8, 2013

My favorite piece of art by one of my talented new theater friends!

Hello all.  Have you ever been at a point in life where everything just seems to be right?  I am there.  I am just so in love with my life right now!  It’s actually pretty scary.  If you’re a regular reader, you all know I auditioned for community theater, was cast in the chorus of Les Miserables, and proceeded to have the most amazing, life-changing summer I have ever had.  I met some incredible, talented, fun, beautiful people, fell in love a time or two, learned about myself, and discovered a new passion.  But honestly, that’s just the beginning!

*

I also recently saw a billboard that may turn out to be life-changing as well.  It was a call for volunteers to attend a workshop to learn to be literacy tutors and ESL teachers.  I was immediately intrigued, but I didn’t get the number down the first time I saw the ad; I had to wait a few days until the next time I passed the billboard at the right time, but finally I got the number and called.  I have always been intrigued by the possibility of teaching ESL (English as a Second Language) overseas.  I used to work in a shipping/postal store, and we served a lot of customers who were ESL teachers overseas, coming in to ship things to their foreign addresses when they were getting ready to go back over.  I always tried to get as much information from them as I could, and frequently in fact, talked their ears off!  (It was the same with anybody who had anything to do with Alaska!  And Lord help them if they knew about both!)

*

So this workshop is coming up on August 10th, and it is just the first step in what could become a new direction in my life.  But in addition to that, there is the oft-mentioned The Blathering, a blogging meet-up I am attending in Charleston the first week in October.  I will be rooming with some incredible writers and meeting even more, and I couldn’t be more excited about that.  I’ve never been to Charleston before, but have always wanted to, and my roommates and I are already planning to take plantation tours, ghost tours, and all kinds of super fun stuff.  Who wouldn’t be excited about that?!

*

And if all goes well, the trip to Charleston will occur in the middle of rehearsals for the next community theater play, a new production called The Secrets of the Buttermilk Hotel.  I plan to audition in late September, and several of the Les Mis cast are already getting excited about potentially being in Buttermilk together.  I have to say, the newfound camaraderie with the Les Mis cast is absolutely one of the most fun things about life right now.  We are always goofing around on Facebook, posting pictures of our shenanigans, making plans to do more projects together, and plotting our reunions!  I just literally could never have imagined how much the decision to be brave and audition for a community theater summer musical could change my existence.  And the amazing thing is, I’m not the only one!  There were many others in the cast for whom this summer was a transformative, life-changing experience.  It has also opened doors with regard to my writing.  One of the cast (who, incidentally, co-wrote and will be directing Buttermilk) asked me to adapt some of my entries from the blog here into an article about being a theater newbie who overcame fear and insecurity to try something new and benefitted hugely from it.

*

Thankfully, all the good things are not just about me.  We have found a new school that has already made a huge difference in the life of my son, who up to this point has hated school with a passion and struggled mightily, even though he is bright and inquisitive.  He attended their summer program and made a great deal of encouraging progress.  He starts in a couple of weeks and is actually looking forward to it, which is a miracle!

*

The sad part (you had to know there would be one) is that when life is this good, I often have to fight a tendency to be afraid, to wonder what hideous bad thing is going to happen that will ruin all of this for me, or at least put a serious damper on it.  I don’t like that about myself, but that is just how I seem to operate.  But it gives me a good opportunity to work on strengthening my faith, to remind myself that I can get through all things with God’s help.  In life, like in theater, Attitude is Everything!  Every night of the show, we had a motto from our director; it was Latin, and loosely translated, meant “We Dare to Be Great!”  All we have to do is keep that in the forefront of our minds and keep plowing forward, enjoying the moment and having faith that there is nothing that can’t be overcome.

*

Until next time,

D.

 

4 Responses to “Loving Life In No Uncertain Terms!”

  1. I love your positive attitude

    • Hi! Thanks so much for reading! It doesn’t always come easy- I have been working on it for a while. If you read me long enough, you will see that I can be the Queen of Stinkin’ Thinkin’ at times. It’s a constant battle, but one worth fighting. 🙂 Thanks again for reading and commenting!

  2. […] I’ve been talking about community theater constantly since about May?  And how I talked in this entry, and this one, about auditioning for the next production?  Well, I did it.  I was pretty […]


Leave a Reply

