The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

I’ve Recently Been Inspired… August 6, 2013

Hello all.  If you’ve been reading here for quite a while, or if you know me in real life at all, you know I write a lot of things:  this blog, organizational and packing lists, dorky Facebook posts.  But you should also know that I write poems.  Or what I consider poems, anyway.  They may not fit some people’s definition.  But anyway.  I have posted a lot of my old stuff under the Poetry and Fiction tab at the top of this page, but sometimes I post individual entries that have a new poem in them as well.

*

So I haven’t written anything in a while, but I’ve recently been inspired again.  I just wrote the poem you’re about to read a few minutes ago, and as it’s the first thing I’ve really written in quite some time, I wanted to give it center stage on its own before I added it to the Poetry page.  Here you go:

“Actor”

Actor, I see your face.

As hard as you try,

your skills aren’t sharp enough

to hide your pain.

*

I see you,

a man spread so paper thin

we can see sunlight through you.

*

I know a hint of your story,

but nowhere near the whole.

*

I know the things you don’t say,

that the forces you struggle and fight against

often swallow you alive.

*

And it takes all your considerable strength

to climb out again.

*

In some ways,

I have been there.

How I wish I could be the one

to reach a hand down to you

And pull you up into the light.

DD

8-6-13

1:30 PM

 

*

Until next time,

D.

 

 

Leave a Reply

