The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Newbie On The Boards! (Is that the right expression?) June 19, 2013

Broadway Posters

Broadway Posters (Photo credit: Broadway Tour)

Hello all!  Well, I suppose my last post with its little dose of drama and a minor reference to the Universe made the Universe decide I needed a little bit more to consider, with the result that a number of unbloggable things have happened lately, and it feels like my life and my family’s life is a snail on the sidewalk, and the Universe is the big dumb bully standing over us with a salt shaker:  “Sizzle, suckers!”

*

But anyway.  Rehearsals for the play have started, and wow!  What a lot of work, but a lot of fun at the same time!  The first week or so, we just worked on the music, as if it were a choir rehearsal.  We sat in chairs, we sang, we repeated parts over and OVER.  But then we started work on the staging aspect of rehearsals, and it got really interesting.  Keep in mind, I had never been involved in any kind of theater production.  No high school play, no college theater, nothing.  I didn’t really know exactly how the whole process worked, or what the experience would be like, but I was thoroughly committed.  I signed up with the full anticipation that I would have little to no free time for the next six weeks or so.  Some folks have dropped out, some have missed rehearsals, been late, etc. BUT… we have plowed forward, and I think it will come together soon.

*

The funniest part is our director.  He is clearly passionate about his work, and he is so very patient with all the newbies like me, like when he’s telling me something as simple as “Back up…” and I look at him like a deer in headlights because I’m in the middle of a crowd and I’m not sure he’s talking to me.  Or when he says “You…move over here…” and again, I don’t move because although my eyes are on him, my adult-onset ADD is taking over and I’m actually not even sure where my mind is, because I just had an “Obliviate!” moment.  He never gets aggravated at us, or at least he doesn’t show it.  He just grins his big ol’ grin and says, “It’s ok, that’s why we have these little get-togethers!”

*

And then of course, there are the glimpses of how the show will turn out when it’s complete, when we get a great bit of staging right, or somebody hits a great note, or the whole chorus blasts forth with the final note of a very moving song.  Those are the best moments so far, because I just know the audience is going to love it.  Those are the moments that make me feel like I already know I am going to be part of something absolutely amazing, and I absolutely can’t wait.

*

Until next time,

D.

 

2 Responses to “Newbie On The Boards! (Is that the right expression?)”

  1. Denise White Says:

    DeeAnne, you are so well-spoken! I wish I could write like you!! As you can see from my pic I actually made a page and was seriously going to endow it with flowery and witty prose. But as you can see, I’ve never followed through. Oh well, at least as soon as you see this pic you’ll know who it is… that blog flunkie who loves to read your stuff!!! LOL!

    • Thanks, Dearie. 🙂 It’s never too late to start- just sit down and share what’s on your mind. That’s what I do, and although some people probably fall asleep and start to drool before they can finish one of my posts, enough people have kept coming back to make it feel like I’m actually serving a purpose. (Besides, I’d write for myself whether anybody read it or not. 🙂

      Thanks again for reading! See you on the boards!


Leave a Reply

