The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Nostalgia and Anticipation! May 29, 2013

Hello all.  This will be relatively short, as I only have half an hour left at work to write.  I promised in my last post before all the tornado stuff to keep you updated about the Little Theater audition for Les Miserables, how it went, and the results and all that.  But first I also have to say, I am super nostalgic this week, because exactly one year ago this week, I was on the biggest cruise ship in the world, cruising the Caribbean for the first time ever in my life, and you guys…I wanna go back so badly!  I absolutely cannot wait until my next opportunity to go on a cruise.  I told the kiddos if I had the money I’d take them back again in a heartbeat, but Oh! what I wouldn’t give to go on a cruise with just me and a Significant Other!  The romance, the beauty, all that sickening stuff.  🙂

*

AND exactly TWO years ago, my whole family was at Disney World thanks to my incredibly generous mother, who took all of us to Disney to help celebrate her retirement.  It was something she had promised the grandkids a long time ago, and she saw the opportunity and took it.  So I keep looking back on that too, remembering how much fun we had together, and even though there were moments that were not so pretty, I would definitely do that trip again too, if I had the chance.

*

Ok, so the auditions.  It was Saturday, May 18.  I had felt really nervous and undecided about it, right up until I woke up the morning before auditions, and the theater group’s Facebook status was something about just coming to watch if you were nervous or undecided, checking it out, seeing how things went, and coming back on the second day if you wanted to audition.  Y’all, I cried.  I know that sounds insane, but it was like a message from God, telling me I needed to at least GO to the auditions on Saturday, whether I went ahead and sang or not.

*

So on Saturday morning, I got up, showered, etc., tried to put together an outfit that looked confident, but not desperate.  I drove into town, singing along with my warm-up exercises that I had added to my audition CD.  I was among the first people there, because when I originally called about it, the lady I talked to said to come early.  I parked outside and waited around until I saw someone else go in, because I wasn’t sure if I was at the right door, and I’m just a big chicken- that’s how I roll.  So I went in, signed in, had my picture taken, and went to go sit in the auditorium and be nervous.

*

I almost immediately struck up a conversation with another lady sitting there who looked about as nervous as I was.  We chatted a while and she was very friendly.  It turned out that she was from a nearby town, and a member of the same type of church I attend!  (By the time it was all said and done we had exchanged phone numbers and added each other on Facebook!)

*

So first they took all the auditioners who were using sheet music because the pianist had a prior commitment and we needed to get her out of there.  There were probably at least 30 folks there to audition, and about 2/3 needed the pianist.  It immediately became apparent that this… was going to be SO. Much. Fun!  Just watching people perform and listening to them sing was so inspiring.  Some people were really good, others pretty good but really nervous, but the audience was always extremely supportive and respectful.  Everyone was applauded, which was really encouraging.

*

Now, all this time leading up to the auditions, I had been so nervous, so worried that I wouldn’t be good enough compared to everyone else, but by the time I had my name called, something weird had happened.  I realized I was at least as good as most people there, and had as good a chance as any of them to be selected, and something in my just sort of went, “Go for it!”  So I took my spot on stage, assumed an attitude, and waited for the music.  When it came, I just pushed down my fear and nervousness and performed.  I strutted, I danced a little, I made eye contact with the audience, and I felt like a seasoned pro.  As a reminder, my audition song was “When You’re Good to Mama” from Chicago.  They had said in the information that the time limit was 2 minutes, but at first they were not stopping anyone.  By the time they got to me, they were cutting people off at 2 minutes, and when they stopped me, I literally had like 15 seconds to go, if that.  But oh well.  I was able to do the best of the song, and felt like a smashing success.  My new friend was right after me, and she also put it all out there and was really great.  She was auditioning for an actual part, the one I would have gone for if I’d had any experience.  But she’s braver than I am, because she’s a member of the church, and her songs have some profanity in them, and I could never have dealt with the disapproval of those who would come watch the show and gasp at me saying those words, even as a character.

*

So anyway.  There was another day of auditions on Sunday, and then we waited.  And waited.  And WAITED.  Finally on Wednesday afternoon late, they posted the cast list on Facebook, AND….. I made it! I got in the chorus, and my new friend got the part she wanted.  Now it’s just a few more days until rehearsals start June 3rd.  It’s a huge time commitment- rehearsals are every weeknight from 7-10 pm, but I can’t wait.  It’s going to be awesome!

*

Until next time,

D.

 

5 Responses to “Nostalgia and Anticipation!”

  1. Denise White Says:

    Great post, DeeAnne! I can’t wait to start rehearsing and see you again. Your observations about the audition process were exactly right. And I felt the same way you did, nervous but excited at the same time. I was SO glad you were there to talk to me. When we discovered we go to the same church I couldn’t believe what a small world it really is! Now I’ve found out that you know my cousin who goes to church in Lone Grove with you. We had a family reunion Sunday and she told me she knew you and said you were a very sweet girl and extremely smart as well, but I already knew that even though I’d only met you once 🙂 As you mentioned, the part I auditioned for and got is rather vulgar and I’m struggling with that. I know a lot of people will be shocked when they hear “my” language. I just hope they can get past that and not hold it against me. See you soon!

    You’re New Friend

    • Hey, lady! Thanks for reading! I know, rehearsals are coming up fast! Really excited, but hoping I don’t burn out on the music too fast. I listen to it a lot, and it’s always in my head, even when I’m not listening to it.

      Don’t worry about the language of your character. You are going to do such a great job they won’t even notice the language- they’ll be too busy going, ‘Wow!! I had no idea Denise could act and sing like that!’ And anybody who feels compelled to judge needs to get a life. 🙂

      See you Monday, love!

  2. veronicared Says:

    So glad you tried. Am also very glad that you got in and are meeting new people!!! So so excited for you. Let me know when opening night is so I can plan to be there. Love ya

    • Hey girl! Thanks for reading- it’s been a while. I hope you’ll be able to make it to one of the performances. The picture in the post is a link to Ardmore Little Theatre website; it has all the info, but performance dates are July 18-21, and July 25-27. I’m so excited! Love you too!


Leave a Reply

