The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Craving Salad is a Good Thing, Right? October 18, 2012

A salad platter.

A salad platter. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello all.  So I’m sitting here at work today, and I’m noticing I have this almost unbearable craving for a salad.  Not like an ‘iceburg lettuce and a few chunks of tomato that barely qualifies as a salad’ salad, but a ‘heaping with dark greens and every additional vegetable known to man and then some, super unbeatably healthy’ salad!

*

As usual, I have to give you a ton of backstory.  I’ve been really struggling on my weight watching lately.  I know, nothing new there, right?  I am not willing to confess how much of a gain my weigh-in at WW showed this week.  But when I tracked it online and looked at my lovely little progress graph, and when I saw that my current weight was the highest it’s been since Sept. 2011, well, that was it.  I said, “Whoa Bessie!  Somethin’ gotta give here.”  I mean, I felt like I went out of my WAY to make bad choices last week!  Total Running With Scissors mode.  Pure Self Destruction.  I ate everything in sight and some things that had to be hunted down.

*

So after my meeting (and after recovering from the fit of despair and wanting to quit that resulted from it) I got back on the path.  In addition to trying to really examine what I was actually wanting when I felt like eating, I started tracking everything, asked for prayers and encouragement from my friends, almost all the right steps.  (The exception to that would be getting back into an exercise routine.  I mostly sort of hate, dread, and fear exercise, so I have to sneak up on that one.)  Anyway…

*

For the first few days after the WW meeting, I was still in full-on Carb Crave Mode.  When I had to go into the store to get some stuff, all I could see (and all I wanted) was Candy! Cakes! Cookies! Junk!  Wheeeeee!  But I resisted the urge to start by falling face first into a mixed bag of Reese’s products (Lord, how I love those!) and stayed on the straight and narrow.

*

Fast forward to today.  I’m at work, The Boy is with me, and he’s bugging me about “What’s for lunch?”  So I go scope out the refrigerator and discover that we have basically not a lot to choose from in there other than a variety of sandwich stuff.  We had a little broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots, two apples, whole grain wheat bread, a little bit of chicken and roast beef lunch meats, tuna, and peanut butter.  I wasn’t necessarily in the mood for any of those things,.  I would have loved to go to somewhere I could get something healthy-ish, like Subway, but unfortunately, in the dictionary under “Dusty, Empty Pockets” it says “See: The Klingon Woman.”  But instead of just being irresponsible and blowing what little money I had on going out to eat somewhere, I set everything out, made The Boy choose what he wanted, and composed a decent lunch.

*

So then I was scavenging around in one of the refrigerators looking for some sort of greens to put on my sandwich (I was pretty sure I’d seen a bag of baby spinach in there somewhere) when it suddenly hit me that what really, really sounded good was a LARGE salad from Veggies.  Now I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this place before, but if I haven’t, let me just explain that Veggies is our local health food store.  They have a lunch cafe there, where everything is vegan, almost everything is organic, and man!  We’re talking super-delicious here.  They have soups and an entree almost every day, (tomorrow, for example, it’s Eggplant Parmesan with spaghetti and marinara sauce) but the big thing is their salad bar.  You tell them what you want on your salad, and they fix it up.  It’s a little on the expensive side, but you get Health!  and Nutrition!  So here’s what you get to choose from:  mixed greens, baby spinach, shredded carrots, beets, jicama, cucumber, grape tomatoes, artichoke hearts, green onions, broccoli, snow pea pods, edamame, soy crumbles, cilantro, olives, chickpeas, red onions, mixed bell peppers, sprouts, AND about 6 different dressings, all homemade, vegan, etc.  I’m sure I’ve missed an ingredient or two, but that’s most of them.  So by the time you pile all that on there, you’ve got a Salad That Satisfies!  (No, I’m not getting paid for promotion- it’s just that good.)  And if you want a little more substance, you can make it what they call a Haystack and pile all that salad on top of organic blue corn chips, beans, and “cheezy” sauce.

*

So now I’m thinking that at least it’s got to be a good sign that I’m past craving pure fat, sugar, and carbs wrapped up in colorful individual packages, and I’m on to craving a super healthy salad packed with nutrition, low in fat, and quite possibly wearing a halo.  I desire what is good for me.  My body is acknowledging its need for good stuff.  Yay, progress!  Gotta be a good thing, right?  🙂

*

Until next time,

D.

P.S.  As an added bonus, I saved enough on WW points with my scraped-together lunch to treat myself to a lemon biscotti with my coffee!  Sa-weet!!

 

Leave a Reply

