The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Allure Trip Journal: The Last Full Day :( June 18, 2012

Hello all!
The Last Day Arrives! After noting in the compass that the last character breakfast was supposed to be the Shrek family again, and thinking ‘Eh. We’ve seen ‘em…’ I decided to let the kids sleep in and I went up to the Solarium for breakfast. I had some turkey bacon and eggs, and no telling what else, probably a yogurt parfait. It was good, but…lonely. Here was one of those moments when I’d have given anything to have another adult along, especially a Significant Other to enjoy these moments with. (Lord willing, my next cruise will be with just such a person. I just have to find him first.)

*
But anyway. I left the Solarium and stopped at Boardwalk on the way back for coffee and a doughnut or two. (I know, I’m can’t even believe it myself.) I should have just found a convenient spot on the Boardwalk to sit and enjoy my post-breakfast snack, but for some reason I went all the way back to the room and ate them. In the dark. With the kids still asleep. Yeah, I’m beginning to wonder about me, too.

*

Then I remembered I wanted to get to the photo place and look over all our pictures. We had taken comparatively few, I knew, but I wanted to see what we had, especially from the one formal night. I decided the photo book for us was a good deal, because we only had about 30 ship’s photos and a lot of those were sort of duplicates. So I stood at the kiosk and made the picture book. (Which seemed to take for freakin’ ever! In case you’re interested.) But finally I chose to buy the photo book, the cruise DVD, and the picture frame deal, plus 4 other single prints. The photo book held almost every picture we had taken, and was $129 and the frame, dvd, and prints were $109. Yes, it was a relatively big expenditure altogether, but again… once in a lifetime, right? (Somewhere in this time period I also went to Guest Services again and got some cash for the tip envelopes.)

*

Returned to the room to find the Herd was awake, and J. was all insulted that I didn’t wake them up for the last character breakfast. She didn’t care that we had already seen Shrek and company. I explained to her (in so many words) that I had other stuff to do. Which in essence meant I was tired of wasting precious time sitting round waiting to hug people in costumes.

*

So we went to the WJ and they had breakfast. We followed that up with a little show in Adventure Ocean Theater called ImagineOcean. (This is a black-light show that is mostly geared toward very young kids, if you’re interested. But I had thought it would be entertaining for us and take up some time, and I was determined to see as much as possible. And it was a fun, cute little show.)

*

After ImagineOcean we went to Let You Entertain Me, where I had my first true Umbrella Drink of the cruise. From a pineapple, no less.

*

 

*

Anyway, The Boy was terribly sleepy because he had missed his night meds the night before, and he was being a brat, so I gave him half a dose in the morning, and he was too sleepy to stand it, so I let him go back to the room by himself. The girls and I watched the show and went to the room to check on him. He was fine, and they stayed there while I went walking again and spending some more ‘on my own’ time. I walked the walking track, spent some time at the aft step-out off the track, peeked into the fitness room, and went to Park Café to get my last Roast Beef Sandwich (I’m telling you, this thing deserves to be capitalized.) Plus, I finally got to try a Create Your Own salad and I also got a strawberry mousse, which I didn’t realize until halfway back to the room, was not what I had pointed at! I had actually asked for one of those little puff-pastry sandwich-y looking things. Ah, well. Took it all back to the room and realized I’d forgotten to grab a fork. So I just had a Caveman moment and ate it with my fingers. (I know.)
*
Then I realized we’d almost forgotten the Cupcake Decorating class! We went upstairs for that. The Boy was in one of his moods and was pretty impatient with the whole process, and Daughter J. was running a close second! Admittedly, it was a little more involved than I expected, constructing that little cupcake just right. Also, the icing, while delicious, presented a bit of a problem, because it began to be pretty melty, pretty fast. The instructor tried to explain how to avoid this phenomenon- you simply hold the bag as little as possible, and when you must hold it, try to squeeze it only with the tips of your fingers. It didn’t really work as well in practice as in theory. Still, we enjoyed the fruits of our labors:

*
But it was fun, and after scarfing our deformed-looking cupcakes, we bought some sodas and went to the last show- Ice Games. This was very enjoyable. Especially the guest pairs skaters- I must have said ‘Wow!’ about 10 times during their routine. A couple of the lead male skaters (including the aforementioned skater who played Hiccup) were pulling off triple jumps (Yes, I used to be a big figure skating fan-nerd). They introduced them all by first names only after the show, and I had to Google when I got home to discover that Hiccup was Joey Russell, from Canada.

*
After Ice Games, the kids wanted Sorrento’s. I’m not sure you’d believe it, but this was only the second time, I think, that they had had pizza all week! There I was, thinking they’d be there every single day, especially after the missed opportunity to have pizza in Ft. Lauderdale, but they made a monkey out of me, as usual. So anyway, we went to Sorrento’s and it was my first time to try it. I created my own (ham, sausage, spinach, red onions, tomatoes, and mozzarella) and it was super good. Supper wasn’t too far off, and I knew we were going to the MDR for dinner in order to give Dalton and Silvestre our tips, so I saved half of my pizza to use for a post-packing late night snack. : ) Also stopped by the Cupcake Cupboard for one last cupcake for the same purpose. (It was a key lime, in case you’re interested.)

*
We returned to the room and I prepared the tip envelopes and worked on packing until supper. You may be wondering what, about packing, could possibly take so long. Well, there was also sorting, organizing, trashing, etc. taking place, and also, I roll everything. My little sister had turned me on to this whole ‘rolling’ methodology, and I’m definitely a devotee now, because if we hadn’t had the formal night stuff, could have fit everything we took in two large suitcases and one carry-on. Family of four. Eight days. That’s a lot of crap, people!

*
So finally we went to our last supper, so to speak, on the Allure of the Seas. The food was good (I had turkey and dressing. Wha…???) but I was so full I really couldn’t enjoy it that much. We gave our waiters their tip envelopes and said our goodbyes, and like other people have mentioned, I felt a little misty-eyed leaving the dining room. Daughter J. had taken off early in order to stake out our spot for the final character parade. We caught up with her and ended up right in the middle of the Promenade, next to the airbrush tattoo booth. We enjoyed the parade and Daughter J.’s final goodbye to Hiccup. Then we went to tackle yet another of our Must-Do’s at the last minute: Miniature Golf! Daughter S., The Boy, and I went up and got started, while J. went to the room to grab her swim stuff. When she got back, The Boy abandoned his golfing and went to swim. When S. and I were finished with our golf round (an achievement that was slowed considerably by the number of people who apparently also had the same idea) she joined them in the pool and I hurried back to the room to finish packing.

*
I had another minor Moron Moment during this time- I let the door shut when I stepped outside to stuff something else in one of the suitcases I had already set out! I looked around a few halls for a nearby stateroom attendant, didn’t find one, and then dithered about for a while, wondering whether to go all the way back to the pool deck and get one of the kids’ cards, but luckily for me, they returned before I had committed myself to that idea. So they changed clothes and THEN I found Desmond next door and gave him his tip envelope. He was really very nice. (We had had a towel bunny, a towel elephant, and a towel monkey, in case you’re interested. He had also tucked Daughter J.’s Goofy doll and The Boy’s Spyro the Dragon carefully into bed in one location or another every night.)
*
After carefully verifying that we had everything we would need for the next day, I put all the luggage outside the room well before 11 and we all crashed. I had ended up eating the pizza sometime in there, but the key lime cupcake ended up as a tart accompaniment to my WJ breakfast the next day.

*

Up next: Final morning, disembarkation, and the flight home.

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

