The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Allure Trip Journal: Second Sea Day! June 18, 2012

Hello all… So sorry for the long absence.
*
As I was saying… So we’ve hit the last two full days. At this point in the experience, there begins to set in the tiniest feeling of panic. Time is running out, finally, and there is so much still to be done and experienced. And have I really had any time to just take a moment? Have I soaked in every possible memory? Have I done everything I could to make sure the kids were satisfied with their experience and would treasure their memories from this trip forever? I wasn’t sure, but oh well. Who has time for such navel-gazing when there’s characters to be dined with?
*
 I had signed us up pre-cruise, for all three character breakfasts. We woke up on Friday morning and got ready. Well, Daughter J. and The Boy and I did. Daughter S. chose to sleep in. That’s basically her favorite thing in all the world, sleep. This breakfast we were visited by the Madagascar characters, Mort, King Julien, and Alex. This one felt like it was taking longer than the previous one, because they forgot to bring us our menus! They never brought us the character menu, and after a while, the waitress brought the regular breakfast menu around, and she was all, “You never said anything!” Kind of frantic-like. I just thought, ‘Yeah, ‘cause I didn’t realize we’d been forgotten, I just thought you were slow!’ 
*
 So anyway, the kids had typical breakfast stuff, and I tried Eggs Benedict for the first time, which was pretty good. We had our pictures taken with all the characters. (Gloria was not a part of this breakfast, in case you’re interested. I assume it’s because she’s too big to maneuver through the tables easily.)
*
 We returned to the room and Daughter S. woke up and went to the WJ for breakfast. (She had discovered a soft spot for the pastries.) I decided I wanted to take some Mom-Time (Hallelujah Chorus again). I wanted to experience the Solarium, so I took my little journal and went up. I wandered through the area, trying to decide on the best, most comfortable spot for journaling, resting, “relaxating”, and um… whatever else came to mind. I ended up in a pretty good spot, right in the middle of the upper deck, but after a short time there, I realized… it was stinkin’ hot up here! So I relocated to a semi-shady spot on the pool deck. I wrote for just a little while, and they were playing some fun music (Rhianna, Don’t Stop the Music, in case you’re interested.) So I just kind of closed my eyes and wiggled my little foot and tried to chill for a mo’. 
*
 Much too soon, I decided maybe I’d better go check on the kids and make sure they were getting ready to go to the all-important event: The first HTTYD ice show! We got there early, although there were already several people in line, and J. was freaking out, worrying that we wouldn’t get the seats she had been told by a cast member were the very best. (Cast Member– I sound like I’m at Disney. One of the people who had stopped by our table at breakfast was somehow involved with the ice show and told us which seats were near most of the action. This of course was vital information that J. took strictly to heart. J
*
 But we got in, got the seats we wanted, and waited. The show itself was really good. The skaters were very much “in character” and the props and effects were wonderful. So, now the big moment. After the show was over, we looked around for someone to ask about the meeting with Hiccup. One of the tech people, I assume, was standing there sort of making sure everyone got out, and we talked to him and told him the story- how Guest Services had arranged a special meeting, etc. He made a quick call to the back and then said it was ok, and Hiccup would be right out. I think I was as nervous for Daughter J. as she was at this point. Needless to say, still cameras and video cameras were at the ready. I had assigned Daughter S. to roll video and I was on point with the digital. Incredibly, Daughter J. had her back to the rink when he skated out. I told her ‘Hey, look there…’ and pointed behind her, and she turned around…and there he was, right behind her. She just grinned bigger than Dallas and he reached out to give her a hug. 
*
 
*
He was really sweet and friendly, asking her questions about how she was enjoying the cruise and what all we had done so far, etc. We took several pictures and he let her pose with his Viking weapons and shield. I tried to hurry her along at one point, because I knew he probably had limited time to rest between shows, but he acted like he had all the time in the world. He just could not have been more kind. Even so, the meeting only took a few minutes, maybe about 5 or 6, but Daughter J. was perfectly content. We said goodbye and watched as he disappeared back into the set.
*
 After the Big Moment, it was off to the WJ for lunch and then back to the room. Daughter S. and I rested and napped, The Boy watched TV and Daughter J. went back to the second HTTYD show by herself! (This by the way, was a huge thing, because normally she’s very timid about going places and doing things on her own. I was proud of her.) She reported that she enjoyed the second show as much as the first, and that Hiccup had recognized her when he skated past, and waved at her, called her by name, and said hi. What a sweetie!
*
 So then we all continued to rest some more. Why we didn’t go rest up on the pool deck in the sun with a buzzy frozen drink in our hand, I do NOT know. Maybe because of the A/C? Anyway. It was nice, and when I got up, I started trying to organize and pack a little. After some discussion and dithering back and forth on the issue, we blew off the second formal night and went to the WJ again for supper. I don’t know why I didn’t suggest going to Johnny Rockets on one of these occasions, because I had planned in my budget for us to try the place at some point, but it was one of those things we never got around to. Toward the end of the meal, the kids had all gotten up and were grouped around a 2-person table looking out of the window at the sea. ‘Can You Feel the Love Tonight?’ from Lion King was playing on the speaker and the kids were all very still and quiet as they stood there, seeming lost in thought. I was hoping that they were reflecting on what a good time they had been having and how they would never forget this moment. ‘Cause I was. 
*
 
*
After supper, The Boy was dying to swim, but first we sat on the top deck right behind the Solarium and watched the sunset. This was one of those things that became a Must-Do since I never woke up early enough to catch a sunrise. I wanted them to be able to, again, take a moment, maybe just think a little, just absorb the beauty and the experience. 
*
Unfortunately, not all of their experiences had been so peachy keen. Daughter S. had a bad moment today when we were headed to lunch. I had wanted to try the Solarium for lunch, so we went there first and I checked out what they had and decided I’d take a plate and meet the kids in the WJ. They had to cross the pool deck to get there and the sun was so bright that Daughter S. had closed her eyes for a second or was rubbing them or something, and right when she opened them, she either bumped into some guy or he bumped into her. I guess she said sorry and he just made some impatient scoffing noise. She gets really upset at stuff like this, and she cried a little at lunch. She said she was never cruising again and I told her that could just as easily have happened at home in WalMart. She was of the opinion that if it had happened at home, the other guy would have said sorry too. She’s probably right. 
 *
But anyway. After we watched the sunset, The Boy got in the pool and the girls went to change. Now, remember when I talked about us meeting the guy at the towel station who was also an artist like Daughter S.? Here’s where we finally went back to see him and show him her artwork. We had been talking about it all week, feeling pretty bad that we hadn’t gone back yet, and she finally grabbed her notebook when she went up to change. After they got out of the pool, we went to his towel station. I walked up and said hey, and I could tell by the look on his face that he remembered exactly who we were, and he was also a little peeved. I shrank about 6 inches, but S. was right behind me, and we just said hi and that we hadn’t forgotten to come back and show him her art. He kind of thawed a little and was very nice to her as he looked through her notebook. (At some point in there, he also just happened to throw in that he had brought his own artwork back the next night, comprising some 200 drawings. Thanks for the guilt trip, Andres, but we deserved it.) He especially admired her wolves, which are her specialty, and gave her some constructive advice on how to make some parts better. They talked about the animation in some of their favorite games, and a few other things, and he told her to always keep drawing and improving, and we said goodbye. 
*
At this point, we were running very late for Blue Planet. We ran back up to the room, threw on different clothes, and ran back down to the theater, which was full. The poor, beleaguered staff member at the door was under attack from some grumpy old guy who didn’t seem to understand that there WERE no seats left. The staffer said that since we had had reservations, he was under obligation to let us go in and look for seats, although he knew there were none, so we went ahead and went in, and the kids ended up sitting in the floor by the back wall while I alternated standing and leaning. I know this was probably a safety hazard, but what’s done is done. The show was totally awesome, although we would have enjoyed it much more if we’d gotten our butts there on time and got a good seat. I was surprised by this show, by the way. I guess I had always thought there was some storyline to this one too, but maybe I just didn’t read enough reviews or something, because it was just acrobatic and aerial performances set to a variety of music. But I very much enjoyed all the songs, so I was fine with it. 
*
After the show we went to bed, and I was trying to compose a mental list of Absolute Must Dos for the next day, and I was also sort of pre-writing in my head what I hoped to journal on the flight home, summarizing the whole thing, what I’d learned etc. More later on how that turned out!

ETA: The lunch in the solarium was the best! I wish I’d eaten there more often throughout the week. Their wraps were super tasty and the asparagus was wonderful!

Up next… The Last Sea Day

Until next time,

D.

__________________
 

Leave a Reply

