The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Allure Trip Journal- St. Thomas, USVI June 10, 2012

Caribbean Hermit Crab Colony feasting on a man...

Caribbean Hermit Crab Colony feasting on a mango in St. Thomas, USVI (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello all!

*

We were scheduled to see St. Thomas via Sunny Liston Tours. I had seen review for them on CC, looked them up elsewhere, and booked them several months back. (I think I paid a $40 deposit through PayPal at booking, and the balance in cash on tour day, if you’re interested.) I woke up early this morning, expecting to already be there, but we weren’t even docked yet. The Boy woke up early with me, and we went up to the pool deck, originally intending to watch the sunrise, but discovered it was already up. We had fun walking in the wind and pretending we were flying. I wanted to try the Solarium Bistro for breakfast, but it wasn’t quite open yet, so we went ahead and went to the WJ. Between the two of us, we had most of the typical breakfast stuff- eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy. For some reason, The Boy found cottage cheese appealing this morning, too. There’s never any telling, with him.

*

We went to get the girls up and ready, and I thought we were running out of time, so I was going to make them just grab something from Promenade Cafe. All I saw were the donuts and pastries, and although I knew that wouldn’t make for a very filling, long lasting breakfast, I thought that was all we had time for, and I made them just grab a selection and eat. Daughter J. was particularly unhappy about this, as we had told her that we had been to the WJ and she thought they were going too. But when we tried to head for the Gangway, they said it would be another 20 minutes or so, so we zipped back up the the WJ so the girls could have something more substantial for breakfast.

*

In between there, I also made a couple of trips back to the room, being the thoroughly organized person that I am, (not this morning, apparently) and then The Boy decided to spend 15 minutes in the bathroom, and FINALLY we got off the ship! I think it was about 20 minutes past the time we were supposed to have been meeting our driver outside the gate, so I was panicking a little, even though I had called him when we were in the WJ to tell him I thought we were docking a little later, and we’d be late getting off the ship. He said they’d be right there waiting. Ahh, reassurance!

*

We were working our way through the crowds, and I spotted the right sign, and he pointed us to the open air tour bus. We climbed on, and I think we were the last ones. The other folks probably wanted to choke us, but thankfully nobody tried. The first segment of the tour was shopping time. We went to an area near Emancipation Park. There were a lot of shops, but there was also the flea market there, with 50 tables with the same stuff. We went around and around, looking at things and trying to decide if we wanted anything. I would have liked to buy a beach bag set that came with a little wallet and a matching wrap, but I ended up with several t-shirts, a bracelet for Daughter J.’s best friend, a wooden flute for The Boy, and a wrap for Daughter S.

*

Then we thought it was time for us to go, but we had read our watch wrong, and we still had an hour!! So we sat in Emancipation park and just rested and watched the people around us. Soon, the driver came back and we piled on, and the fun part began! He started the music and the bouncy driving, and started pointing out areas of interest, etc. He took us to a couple of great photo stops- vantage points to see the island and take pictures. We also went to the Mountaintop Rum Factory, I think it was called, which was alleged to be the Home of the World Famous Banana Daquiri.

*

Up to this point, The Boy had been being a little cranky and negative and argumentative, but after my Banana Daquiri, I didn’t mind it so much. My head was a little spinny again, but the ride was a little more fun and the kids were a little less aggravating, and all was right with the world for a while. Finally, it was time for our beach stop. Sunny gives everyone a chance to vote for which beach they wanted to go to, and everyone said they wanted Sapphire, which I was happy with, because that was the one I wanted, too!

*

Our first sight of a Carribean beach! It was sooo beautiful! The waves sounded so relaxing, and the palm trees were blowing… it was paradise. For a little while. The kids had brought two masks and one snorkel, and it was hard work making sure everyone was getting equal time. The Boy started getting mad again. I can’t adequately explain how he is when this mood sets in. The tiniest little things infuriate him. The waves pushing against him, rocks in his toes, salt water in his mouth. The girls weren’t sharing the snorkel enough. I was trying to keep him calm and help him to look around him and appreciate and enjoy the moment. It wasn’t helping much. I tried to help him float on his back and just relax and breathe, and that worked for a little while, but I decided to get out of the sun for a bit and go sit under our tree, and he reverted right back to the horrible attitude. I don’t know, maybe I should have taken him to the parking lot and spanked him, maybe I should have just made him get out of the water… I never know what’s the right decision. Anyway. He wanted to kayak, and the one-person kayak seemed pretty reasonable ($10 for half an hour, if you’re interested.) I was going to let him do it, and I thought he would probably be able to do it without much difficulty, because he has had canoe training at Camp Fire camp. But unfortunately the guy running the rentals decided in the end he’d rather not let The Boy do it alone if he wasn’t 100% sure how to do it. And of course, that made things a bit worse.

*

So now, thankfully, it was getting close to time to go, and I was desperate to get away from this group of women sitting near me, who, in my paranoid state, I felt sure were talking about me and what a terrible parent I must be. I got the girls out of the water and we went toward the parking lot. The Boy was being as difficult as ever, and there was another lady from our tour who said her son had some of the same problems as mine, and she knew exactly how I felt. She was so nice to me and I felt so thankful to know somebody else understood!! I was hoping to get to talk to her more later.

*

But we piled back on the tour bus, and even though Sunny played the music on the way back, and we did a little Woot, Woot to the Days of the Week song, it was a little more subdued ride back to the ship. Our hearts weren’t quite in it, I think. We were sandy, soggy, and sunbaked, and I was feeling pretty overwhelmed at this point. Many cruisers would probably not believe that anyone could be thinking, “Thank God it’s at least half over!” but I was. Especially after planning and looking forward to it for months and months, and living in fear that it would all go by too fast. Can you imagine?

*

But we got back on the ship and everybody showered. I spent a little time trying to contain the chaos in our room by reorganizing and re-folding some of the stuff in the cubbies. We went to dinner and I had the crab and noodle salad, Surf n Turf, and coconut creme brulee. I guess sometime after dinner, the kids and I separated and I ended up journaling on the top deck, because I was trying to decide whether to blow off our scheduled show for that night or stop writing and go get the kids. (The planned show for the evening was the Headliner show, the Texas Tenors, if you’re interested.)

*

In the end, I decided to go get them and go to the show, because I figured I didn’t come all this way to not do stuff I’d planned to do. Also, because anything had to be better than being alone with my negative thoughts. So finally we have a lighter moment, because the funniest thing happened on the way to the Headliner show! I can’t remember the exact chain of events, but the kids and I missed each other somehow. I was trying to decide whether to go look for them in the room, or just wait for them at the theater, and they were going to go look for me on the pool deck. So I was in one of the glass elevators, and I think I was just making Elevator Small Talk with someone else in there, and I turned around… and what did I see, but my three kids in the glass elevator across from me, going in the opposite direction from me, with their hands on the glass and shocked looks on their faces when they spotted me in the other elevator! It was the funniest thing I’d ever seen, and it was such a relief to laugh!

*

So I went to the theater, and finally they showed up, and the show was just starting. With the assistance of a staff member, we found a place to sit and had to inconvenience some people to crawl over them, but we settled in and watched the Texas Tenors. Now, I didn’t know exactly who they were yet. Then their show started, and it explained that they had been winners (or runners up?) on the reality show, America’s Got Talent, a few years ago. They were these country-looking guys who seemed like they ought to be on the CMT Awards, but they were singing classical music! They also sang patriotic and folk music too, but I really enjoyed their show! They brought a lady passenger up on stage with them and sang to her, and made a big fuss over her. It was a lot of fun to watch! Then there was a big teary-eyed Pro-America moment when they sang God Bless the USA. All in all, I was really very glad I had not decided to blow off the show, because it was pretty enjoyable.

*

So we returned to the room, and shortly after, it was time to go to the Comedy Show. I have to tell you about our expectations for this show. Daughter S. has a great laugh. I mean, a really funny, really catchy laugh. We were hoping that her laugh wouldn’t get us heckled by the comedians, in fact. (I was halfway hoping it would, actually!) Because I had been telling her for ages that if the comedian could make HER laugh, they’d have the whole room, because her laugh would crack everyone else up.

*

Well, as it turned out, we didn’t have to worry about that, because it seemed that everybody appreciated these particular comedians, and there was a guy in the front row with a funnier laugh than hers, so I doubt anybody even noticed. But we thought they were really funny. (Gary DeLuna and Miguel Washington, if you’re interested.) We drank Cokes and laughed through the whole show. (She hates Coca Cola, and was in Dr. Pepper withdrawal the whole time, but she always has to tell me how bad Coke is for you, because it eats pennies. She did an experiment one time where you put a penny in Coke overnight and in the morning it’s just GONE. )

*

So after the show, I went to Guest Services and cashed another TC and checked again on the ‘Daughter J. meeting Hiccup’ situation, because we still hadn’t heard anything from them and she was asking me about it every 5 minutes. This time, I talked to a man named Jorge, I think it was, and he said he would talk to the original lady I talked to, and one of them would definitely get back to us. I hoped maybe we’d get lucky. Then we went back to the room and got ready for St. Maarten.

*

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

