The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

I Should Be Sleeping! (But Aren’t You Glad I’m Writing, Instead?) May 26, 2011

Filed under: Family,Mood Swings — DDKlingonGirl @ 7:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hello all!  Well, this is it.  The event I’ve been waiting for since before Christmas has arrived.  Our trip to Disney World is upon us.  I’m supposed to be sleeping right now.  The kids are.   Sleeping like little logs.  My parents will be collecting us at approximately 3:00 a.m.  The suitcases are in the van.  Our carry-on bags are by the door, ready for literal last-minute items.  I have studied, researched, planned, questioned, thought, re-thought, made notes and lists, shopped, packed, bagged, and re-arranged.  I am thoroughly prepared for this adventure.  Which begs the question, WHY THE HECK AM I SO NERVOUS? 

*

I was texting my little sister, who is also going on the trip, and she tried to get me to relax a bit, but the results were short-lived.  Actually, nervous isn’t the word for what I’m feeling.  I’m not exactly nervous, or scared, or worried.  Just… anxious?  Apprehensive?  I dunno, there’s a whole list of adverb (or are they adjectives?), none of which are precisely right.  I want everyone to have fun, and I want to get to see and do the things I want to see and do.  I want to have the energy to accomplish all my park touring.  I want to not overeat.  I want the kids to enjoy the trip.  I especially want Mom to enjoy the trip, since she’s paying for all of it, and since the whole thing is a celebration of her retirement. 

*

I just thought of something.  If I want the kids to enjoy the trip and not be worried, scared, or nervous, then I need to seriously put on a happy face and not act all nervous about stuff.  They need to see me cool, calm, collected, confident, and chillaxed.  I’m a little concerned about airport security, hoping none of our stuff gets thrown away, and I’m hoping none of our bags get lost, especially not the one with all our sneakers in it.  But beyond that, there’s nothing really to worry about.  There are about 40-zillion Disney employees all over the place to tell you where to find anything you need, how to get from place to place, and if necessary, take your hand and walk you to where you’re going.  Clearly labeled buses, pre-paid tickets, custom made touring plans, and scientifically packed suitcases.  Absolutely nothing to worry about. 

*

I’m having a little trouble with one thing, though.  Mom just called me and wanted to know if I wanted to take my car over there and put it in the garage.  I can’t make up my mind about that, because I hate to make it even more obvious that nobody is home, but I really don’t want my car to get further damaged if there’s another hail storm like the one we had the other day that dropped baseball- to softball- sized hail and broke about 3 out of every 5 windshields around here! (One of which was mine!)  On the other hand, if it does get more damage, maybe it will be enough to cover my insurance deductible and I can turn it in on insurance.  I doubt it would do that, though.  My stupid deductible is about as much as the whole car is worth! 

*

Anyway.  I already told Mom to just stick with the original plan and come pick us up, which she plans to do, sometime between 2:45 and 3:00 a.m.  With that in mind, I’d better get to sleep.  Or perhaps I’ll go fold laundry.

*

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

