The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Forgiving is Cathartic and Cleansing! October 13, 2010

Filed under: Preach It Sista!,Steps in the Journey — DDKlingonGirl @ 8:27 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Hello all.  Today’s topic for Day 4 of 30 Days of Truth-ish is:  Something you have to forgive someone else for.  Wow.  That’s a tough one.  It’s a little disconcerting to examine your life and see that there are things that you’ve yet to let go of, things you still resent and dislike, and yes, even hate, other people for, things they’ve done to you or things they did that you went along with, that derailed where you thought your life was going. 

*

Anyway.  Two situations I really need to forgive in my life, one personal, one professional.  I can’t truly say I’ve figured out how to do that, but I’m working on it.  I have had this discussion with friends before and they’ve told me that it’s like Nike, you just do it.  You just say in your heart, “I forgive this person for whatever they did or didn’t do that hurt me or damaged me or caused my life to go in a different direction than I thought it was going to go.”  And then you just refuse to let it come into your head again and when it does, you just remind yourself how much you’ve been forgiven for and tell Satan to quit throwing it back in your face.  Man, that’s tough!  I know it has to be done, but I haven’t given it up yet.  I haven’t made the decision to permanently Let It Go. 

*

Why do you suppose people like to hang on to the hurts that other people have caused them?  They’re hurts!  They fester and enflame and wound and poke and keep a person from being whole and healthy!  Who would want that?  Like the compulsion to keep probing at an aching or loose tooth, or picking at a pimple, or poking a bruise.  What is it about us incredibly screwed-up humans that we sometimes seems to revel in our own pain?  Are we really that masochistic or is it just a way of reminding us we’re still alive and there’s still inprovement to be made and we might possibly be whole and healthy and pain-free *someday*?  Like a reminder that life has potential. 

*

I’m not sure I have any deep, mind-blowingly brilliant answers for that (or anything else, for that matter) but I do know that according to the faith I’ve been brought up in, we are forgiven as we have forgiven.  I don’t know about you, but there is a whoooooole lot I’d really like for God to just strike off my record.  A WHOLE lot.  So if I want that for myself, I have to give that to others.  So here goes:  I am taking this moment, on this day, to forgive these people for what they have done that has caused me pain.  I permanently and completely forgive them and I ask for strength never to revisit that pain again and never again to allow it to affect me or my life or my decisions, except insofar as I have learned from the experience how to avoid repeating it.  I accept them into my heart as brothers in Christ and I love them in Christ.  Amen.

*

Wow, that feels good! 

Until next time,

D.

 

2 Responses to “Forgiving is Cathartic and Cleansing!”

  1. lacy Says:

    Good stuff!! 🙂

    • LenaDeeAnne Says:

      Hey Lacy! Thanks. I’m sorry- I think I accidentally deleted a comment from you before because I didn’t recognize who it was from. Thank you for reading and commenting!


Leave a Reply

