The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Regarding The Boy: From Ranting to Tearjerking in 700 Words September 9, 2010

Filed under: In Memoriam,Mood Swings,Parenting Perils — DDKlingonGirl @ 7:36 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hello all.  I’ve been trying to come up with a good reason for why I haven’t been very prolific lately with the writing and blogging, etc.  I have no reason or excuse except that I am not sure I have anything particularly entertaining to talk about, not that I’ve ever let that stop me.  I’ve just been in a general slump lately about everything!  For example, I have needed to fold laundry for about…. oh, EVER.  And I’ve needed to sort through a ginormous box of pictures and find pics for the class reunion (that is coming up in only 8 days and to which I am very much looking forward, but with a significant degree of trepidation.) I need to find some way to get some work done out in the garage because my dear, sweet, insane mother is planning to use MY house for a garage sale!  And if time allows, after all that, I need to find some way for my son not to wind up in a mental institution, with me sharing a room, because he’s driven us both nuts.

*

Frankly, I blame the entire American educational system.  I blame a system that wants kids to learn the difference between historical fiction and realistic fiction in the 3rd grade.  I blame a system that wants kids to “start thinking outside the box” when they’re NINE years old.  And, OH, how I blame a system that measures a kid’s success and potential by their score on a standardized test! 

*

Right now I just want to blame everything.  The kids were just on the phone with their Other Biological Parent, which for no particular reason at all, puts me in a bad mood.  It shouldn’t put me in a bad mood for them to speak on the phone to OBP.  I don’t know why it does, except that they think OBP is all things wonderful and fabulous and perfect-parent-like, when OBP gets to see them all of once every 4-6 months, and when that occurs, it’s for a maximum of three or four days, and their entire visit consists solely of him listening to their every word, playing video games with them, watching movies and doing whatever they want.  He doesn’t have to be the one to say, “No, you can’t go to your friend’s house,” “No, you can’t have sugar for breakfast,” “No, you can’t play that game right now, because you haven’t done your homework,” “No, you can’t play outside because you left the yard without permission last time.”  They never have to hear him ranting, raving, or otherwise requiring of them horrible MOM things like, “Bedtime, go brush your teeth, clean your room, do your chores, finish your homework, eat this healthy food, put on clean clothes, turn off the tv, turn down your earphones, get up, get dressed, hurry, let’s go, we’re late, you can’t wear that, clean up this mess…”  They see him with a freaking halo and wings, and it drives me up the wall. 

*

So anyway.  I am under tremendous stress because I feel like my son is having all the joy of life and learning sucked out of him by an effed up educational system and I feel powerless to change it.  I cannot afford to send him to any other type of school, even if there were a superfluity of options here in Southern Oklahoma, which there are NOT.  He’s only in the 3rd grade.  We have 9. More. Years. of. School, God help us.  I cannot imagine how he will be in high school if he is this difficult now.  He is cranky, irritable, frustratrated and unhappy, and that’s on a better day.  On a bad day, he is literally unmanageable because absolutely nothing satisfies him and he has ZERO patience for anything and I don’t have much more than that!

*

But sometimes.  Oh, sometimes!  He can be so incredibly sweet and amazing.  Like the other night when we were on our way home from my parents’ house and he was leaning his head over against the car window and looking up at the stars.  He mentioned it was a very starry night and when I agreed, he said, “Stars fill me with joy.”  Or when he says he loves me, and it just doesn’t seem like enough for him to say it once.  He has to say it every five minutes for an hour.  Sometimes he says, “I just love you so much it breaks my heart.” 

*

Guess what, kid?  It breaks mine too.

Until next time,

D.

 

3 Responses to “Regarding The Boy: From Ranting to Tearjerking in 700 Words”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Hey! In the overall picture, what you are doing will pay off. Believe me, you will come out on top because you saw to it that the boy got what he needed during these years. I remember that I was an ogre during the school years, but my kids love me for it now because they got an education. I really had to pull my hair out over my oldest son but look where he is now and the job he holds! It was worth the tears and sweat and the times that he didn’t like me very much! Love you!

    • LenaDeeAnne Says:

      Thank you! I sure hope so. I get so stressed out worrying about how he will ever get through school when he hates it so much already. I keep thinking maybe there is some solution for some alternative ed situation that I am missing. But I keep plowing on, because what choice do I have, right? 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Wanda Says:

    You know. I really don’t know what the answer is to get your child to like school. I wish teachers would try to make their classes a lot more interesting. If you could discover some way to make home work more fun, (LOL) maybe this would help some.


Leave a Reply

