The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

On Reading Literature and Writing Life July 20, 2010

Filed under: Books! How I Love 'Em! — DDKlingonGirl @ 9:42 pm

(Retrieved from my Myspace Blog- originally written Thurs. Nov. 12, 2009)

 

Hello again.  Ok, at the insistence of a friend, I was supposed to be reading this great new book, What French Women Know, by Debra Olivier.  Ever obedient, I found it the other day in Hastings, but it was slightly expensive, since it was a new release. I decided I couldn’t afford it. Later I found out someone else I know had bought the book and I could have borrowed it, but was too impatient to wait for her to finish.

So a few days later I decided to just buy the book.  I deserve it, right?  Flawed logic though it may be, I told myself that since I was buying this book and I didn’t know if I would like it, and, to be honest, was reading it as a counselling assignment, I should buy myself a ‘classic’ at the same time.  (See?  I said my logic left something to be desired!)  So I went on over to the classics section and checked out my choices.  Considered Austin, Shakespeare, and a few others, but finally settled on Robinson Crusoe.  And then, for some strange reason, i picked up another particular book, looked at the title, and for some reason thought it was something I ought to know about, and kept it. The book?  The Souls of Black Folk, by W.E.B. Du Bois!!

So I’ve already read the French women book, and I finished Black Folk last night.  Crusoe is next, and I’m actually quite proud of the fact that I’m reading something more intellectually beneficial than Twilight or Harry Potter or Gone With The Wind.  (Not that any of these are anywhere near the same category in literary value, but you get my point.)  Each piece of this eclectic collection of reading materials offers me something different.  The French Women book is relevent to me now.  It’s about the difference in American and French culture with regard to how women see themselves, treat themselves, allow themselves to be treated by others, and live their lives.  It offers a glimpse at a different mindset than the one most American women have, and one which I think has merit in a lot of ways.  One of my counselling assignments for this week is to choose any one of the many concepts from the book and live it for a week. 

The Du Bois book is a chance to see life from a past perspective.  Not a perspective that would have gelled with my own had I lived in that time, but one that would have been completely foreign to me, and still is.  I am ashamed to admit that sometimes when i think of what life in America is like for some people, even today, I haven’t always understood what all the fuss was about.  I didn’t get the sense of ‘other-ness’ that they felt, the sense of always being on the outside, of being marginalized and villified for no other reason than color.  This book helped bring a bit of understanding, a feeling of enlightenment.  I like that. 

And finally, Robinson Crusoe is simply a classic story that will add to my general knowledge and offer a chance to read something new only for escape, which is the main reason I usually read.  Here’s hoping I enjoy it, and that even if I don’t, that I get something from it.

With all this in mind, I now close with one of my most recent poems.  It’s about words and meanings and the different aspects of life.  (Don’t worry- it’s not as deep as it sounds.  Maybe.)  And I encourage all my friends to go out and pick up a new book today, maybe something you wouldn’t normally choose to experience, and expand your mind!  It’s more fun than you think.

____________________

Life Story

Thinking in metaphors-
picking up, blowing the dust off,
sorting through and piecing back together.
Flying, racing, drifting,
Walking.

Existing in verbs-
Survive.  Breathe.  Continue.

Dreaming in abstract nouns-
life.  happiness. contentment.
        joy.  peace.
  confidence. faith.

The language of myself.
   words of me.
To explain.  To illuminate.
    To cry out.
To speak who I am to the world.

DeeAnne Brown- 10/15/09  11:56 pm

Until next time,
D.


Read more: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.ListAll&friendID=184601651#ixzz0uHew66am
 

Leave a Reply

