The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Recovering From a Slump with Crumb Crunchers, Casseroles, and Classics! June 14, 2010

Hello all.  Ok, people, I’m going to try really hard to say something entertaining here.  It’s just that I’ve recently been coming up empty in the writing department.  I know anybody who’s written longer than five minutes has suffered from this syndrome, but I usually don’t have so much trouble!   

It’s not just my writing that’s suffered.  I haven’t been doing much of anything lately.  Not sure why. Ever since school has been out, it seems like I do nothing except go to work, come home, check the Facebook, and then stick my nose in a book of some sort.  (I’ll tell you about that in a moment.)  Occasionally I fix supper for the crumb-crunchers.  Other times I tell them to go scrounge around and find something for themselves. 

Speaking of the children, it seems they have recently been on a mission to drive me completely insane.  Saturday when I was at work, they all got in a big fight, even though one of them had just that day gotten home from being away for a WEEK at church camp.  I made the mistake of buying them a secondhand PS2 and some games from a customer at work, and they couldn’t agree on who got to play it.  So after much ugliness and crying and foul language, after Grandma had to come over and administer beatings upon their backsides, I grounded them for two weeks from the video games and made them write notes to Grandma apologizing for ruining her day. (Her 40th anniversary, which already had to stink, because Dad was on his way home from out of town and she was in between 12-hour shifts at Uniroyal (Michelin) tire plant. Then she had to go referee rotten grandkids who told her they hated her when she spanked them.  So yeah.) 

Aside from the Saturday incident, they have been ok.  They’re leaving to go spend a few days at their father’s house tomorrow.  Not sure how long they’ll stay.  Until they get sick of it, I imagine.  I’m anticipating they’ll be there 3 or 4 days.  Their dad would be happy if they stayed for a week, but he knows Daughter S. well enough to know she’s too much of a homebody for that. And once she decides it’s time to end the visit, she pretty much gets her way and the other two have no choice but to go home with her. 

Tomorrow is my Weight Watchers meeting.  Joy.  We’ll see how I do, but I am trying not to have any expectations whatsoever.  I’ve tried to be good at home, but we had a church dinner yesterday, and let me just say we have some great cooks at our church.  I tried to eat mostly vegetables, but this being The South, the vegetables in question were prepared with plenty of extra added fat.  Like bacon in the green beans, carrots and potataoes soaked in the juice of the roast they were accompanying, peas prepared ‘en salade’  (pea salad with boiled eggs and mayo in it), and a beautiful broccoli and cauliflower salad that had red, yellow and green peppers in it, as well as celery, and which was dressed in some kind of Italian-type dressing that was probably not fat-free.  There was also Grandma Pat’s Very Famous and Well-Loved Poppyseed Chicken Casserole and Mrs. Neill’s Legendary, Textbook Perfect Nestle Tollhouse Cookies.  Lord, I love church dinners!

So anyway.  Not sure what to expect on the scale tomorrow, because although I think I’ve been pretty good overall, I’m not sure because I’ve failed to consistently track what I’ve eaten and know my points levels.  I’m going to have to get back on it super strict tomorrow, but I also have another Class Reunion planning meeting tomorrow night after work.  At a restaurant called Catfish Corner.   I think this is a conspiracy. 

As for the books I’ve been reading… well, I made the mistake of going to Hastings with the kids the other night.  Hastings is a place from which I rarely, if ever, emerge without having bought at least two or three new books.  On this occasion I purchased the Stephanie Meyer novella The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, a companion to the Twilight Saga.  AND…. I bought myself a new copy of an old classic and have been basically worthless ever since because it takes so long to read and I can’t do anything until I’ve finished it.  Between last Wednesday night and last night (Sunday) I re-read Gone With The Wind for the millionth time!  I bought the cheapest paperback copy they had, which I kind of regret, because it wasn’t a great edition.  There were a lot of words I noticed had been changed, and the foreword was mostly pointless.  I tried to start reading it out loud to Daughter S. because I read her most of the Harry Potter books and it’s been something we’ve enjoyed doing together, even though she’s perfectly capable of reading for herself.  Unfortunately though, she bailed after the first chapter and said it was boring.  We’ll see if I can drag her back and make her listen to a little more and give it a chance. 

So that’s an update, and a desperate attempt to just jump in and get back in the blogging habit before I lose it completely.  I’ve got one daughter starting driver’s ed in a couple of weeks- that should provide PLENTY of material!

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

