The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Little People Can Do Big Things! April 21, 2010

Hello all.  Well, if there was any doubt before, there’s not now.  I am the mother of a little boy who is 77 lbs. of pure gold awesomeness.  He’s stubborn, he’s determined, he’s willful, and he’s quite frequently difficult.  But tonight he demonstrated that his powers can be harnessed for good. 

Let me explain first of all that this child is 8 years old!  He will be 9 in a few weeks.  We just got home from town a while ago, and as we were pulling in the driveway, I was whining ( I do that a lot) that the yard was such a hideous jungle that we could make a killing by hiring it out for safari parties.  Now Mom and Dad’s push mower was sitting by the front door because Mom brought it over one day last week.  The Boy helped me a little, and I mowed half the front yard before we ran out of time, and then it rained for a couple of days.  I haven’t been able to get back to it because we’ve had things going on all week.  

So tonight when we got home, after hearing me whine about it, Little Man wanted to mow the yard.  I told him no, he was too little to mow the yard by himself, and I’d get to it when I could, and to get in the house.  We got everything carried in; Daughter S. put away all the groceries, I started dishes, and then we both ended up sitting in the living room.  The Boy went outside.  I thought he was just playing in the yard or had walked down to the park. 

It wasn’t until I heard a lawnmower coming right up to the front door that I realized he was messing with it!  I jumped up and went out to check and make sure he still had all his limbs, and there he was, drenched in sweat, rubbing his little hands, and proudly looking over his accomplishment.  He had mowed the entire north half of the yard all by himself.  And let me just say, this yard was not merely a little past its regularly scheduled maintenance!  The grass was in some places was over a foot high!  But sure enough, even along the ditch line, up to the fence, and along the driveway… mowed, clean as could be.  He actually did a pretty good job!   Somebody who was walking by had helped him start it, but he did the rest all by himself. 

I’m torn between being proud of his strength and determination, feeling horrible that I hadn’t done the job myself already, feeling guilty that I didn’t know what he was up to, and feeling extremely thankful that he didn’t hurt himself- like get a chunk of grass in his eye or cut his foot off or anything. 

No, I’ve got it figured out- I’m proud.  I told him how great I thought he was and what a great job he did.  I guess now though, I should tell him that if he ever touches the lawnmower again without me knowing about it and giving him permission, I’ll have to spank his little butt!

On an entirely different topic, I had an interview for a teaching job today.  Despite the pages of angst I’ve turned out writing about how I’m scared to go back to teaching, I submitted my application on a whim when the posting came up, and I got the interview.  I don’t have any idea how I did, but I don’t feel like I was very impressive.  I’m not sure where I’ll rank with the other 7 or 8 people they’ve got lined up, but I gave it my best at the interview.  I’m content in knowing that whatever happens will be what God wants to happen.  If I’m meant to be there, I’ll get the job, and if I’m not, they’ll pick somebody else.  I’m just proud that I had the courage to apply and go to the interview after so long feeling insecure about whether I could really teach or not. 

Overall- life is good!

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

