The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Spring Break Celebrations- Party In the House! March 21, 2010

Hello all!  Well, Spring Break is over.  We’ve had our fun, lived it up, laughed until we wet ourselves, (oops- maybe that was just me!) and now it’s time to get back to work for one more term of school, and then we can have Summer!  Of course, it’s hard to realize we’re looking forward to summer when we had snow on the ground this morning.  Oklahoma is so weird! 

Anyway.  When I said we’d lived it up and laughed til we wet ourselves, I almost meant it.  I had company this weekend.  Not just any company, but my cousin who, when we get together, never fails to tell stories and bring up memories that leave us laughing until we absolutely cannot breathe!  Oh, it was quite the adventure.  And if I forgot to warn them when they were here:  Anything you said can and will appear in a future blog entry! 

Picture this.  Three Moms, all cousins.  Between them, they have 9 kids, and there is one extra friend along for the ride.  Said kids range in age from 19 to 8.  All in one house, hanging out, laughing, scarfing down pizza (although not as much as I thought they would, apparently!) and running around like crazies in a Who-sy Whatsit.  Yeah.  That was us this weekend- The Original Three Amigos- me, Peggy, and Vallerie.  Peggy’s the oldest (Sorry, Peg!), followed by Vallerie, and then me.  This is how close we are:  from my birthday on September 5th to Peggy’s on September 17, we’re all the same age.  Our mothers are sisters, and we have grown up making each other laugh and getting into trouble together. 

All it takes is a wee little mention of “I’d like to see you try that again, Sucka!”  Or climbing trees in Colorado (and falling out of them.)  Or troll toes.  Or stomping up and down the stairs.  Or THE  Christmas picture!  and we will be laughing so hard, we are mere moments from losing consciousness. 

And now we’re bringing our kids into the mix, making them proud with stories of their grandparents setting an outhouse on fire, laughing at stupid things like farts, and reading websites like PeopleAtWalMart.com or The Weddinator and laughing ourselves silly.  Truth to tell, we do have great kids.  They’re all talented, smart, funny, beautiful, and a little wicked.  But I’m not biased at all- of course I’m not! 

The only casualty of war was my Weight Watchers.  After eating untold amounts of pizza Friday night, cold pizza for breakfast Saturday morning, chips and guacamole and salsa, Dad’s grilled burgers, hot dogs and polish sausage, chips, cookies, and more guac and salsa, I’m betting my WW will suffer dramatically.  I threatened to quit last night at Mom’s, and everybody promptly threatened to beat me to death if I did.  So I won’t.  I’ll do the best I can to eat healthy tomorrow, drink plenty of water, wear the lightest clothes I own on Tuesday morning, and hope I’m not even further back from where I was a couple of weeks ago.  Between “Kids are Gone, Let’s Go Out!” nights with Vallerie, and Super-Cousins Weekend with Peggy and Vallerie and all our kids, my eating plan is in desperate need of a jump start. 

Oh well.  The important facts are these:  the kids had a good time visiting their father, which they’d looked forward to for ages; I had a good time hanging out with friends, doing Kid-Free things in their absence; AND my cousin Peggy got to come see me and spend two nights at my house and we enjoyed ourselves as we always do.  Diet be darned!  As Scarlett O’Hara said, “…tomorrow is another day!” 

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

