The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Karaoke Dreamin’ March 17, 2010

Filed under: Dreams and Passions,Fierce Woman Roaring,Whatever — DDKlingonGirl @ 10:25 pm

Hello all!  Hope everyone is doing well.  I thought I’d talk tonight about something that I’ve wanted to do forever and never been brave enough.  It’s not bungee jumping or hot-air ballooning, sky-diving or race-car driving, although I’d never be brave enough to do those either.  No, this is much less death-defying, but at least as nerve-wracking, in my opinion.  It’s karaoke!!

I love to sing.  Always have, AND… I’ve always wanted to do karaoke.  (Warning:  Dork Confession!)  I actually used to sing along with my cassette tapes in my bedroom and pretend I was doing a concert!  Now I sit at the computer Facebooking and listening to my iTunes, and I sing along and imagine performing the songs on karaoke somewhere.  Now I know I don’t have a perfect voice, but I wouldn’t break glass or make bats pass out, or anything like that.  My projection and breathing could use a lot of help, but I probably wouldn’t get tomatoes thrown at me if I were to take the stage on karaoke night.

So why haven’t I ever done it if it’s such a big dream and a passion, you ask?  Simple.  I’m a big chicken.  I would probably have to be extremely intoxicated before I could be persuaded to grab a mic in front of strangers.  On the other hand, I’ve heard intoxicated people sing, and they’d probably do much better if they were a little less trashed!  So knowing that, I’d probably be more likely to sing sober than non-sober.   Either way I’d probably wet myself and then faint. 

Now some of my friends and family will remember that I’ve actually performed before, and be quick to remind me that I’ve sung for a much bigger crowd than the Karaoke Krew at Budro’s.  This is true.  In addition to singing at family reunions, I did sing a solo at graduation, which was also something I’d always wanted to do and never dreamed I would.  It will always be something I’m proud of doing, always.  (I would like to ask why they let me sing the song I did, which was “We’ve Only Just Begun.”  It was what I chose to sing, but A) it was pretty old for a 1990 graduation, and B) it’s way more of a wedding song than a graduation song!) 

Anyway.  I would just like to ask my readers which song you’d perform if you were brave enough to do karaoke.  My playlist has run from Carrie Underwood to Celine Dion while I’ve been writing this, and I’d probably sing just about any of their songs.  I’d also sing anything by Reba, because she was the artist I used to try to imitate when I was giving my World Tour back in junior high.  There are many others, from Lorrie Morgan to Wynonna, from Anna Nalick to Barbra Streisand.  Right now, ‘Time to Say Goodbye’ by Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli is playing.  I’d kill to sing that!  I’d even sing “The Impossible Dream!”  Which singing karaoke shouldn’t be.  So maybe next time there’s a microphone available, I’ll just grab it and run.  You have been warned!

Until next time,

D. 

PS- I’ve also always wanted to sing at someone’s wedding, so maybe I’ll just combine the dreams and become a Wedding Singer! Yikes at the thought of that, huh!?

 

8 Responses to “Karaoke Dreamin’”

  1. Mandie Says:

    I’ve done karaoke before. I have both rocked it out and completely tanked. It is terrifying and I was stone cold sober. I’ve also sung both a solol and a duet at a wedding. Not sure if both couples being divorced have anything to do with that. Even if I could get up the nerve to do it again. I’ve decided to retire as a wedding singer just in case.

    • LenaDeeAnne Says:

      Did you really? I didn’t know that! Neither the karaoke or the wedding gig things! What did you sing? I almost sang with my cousin Gene at his sister’s wedding. He chickened out at the last minute. Jealousness! And Kudos for doing the karaoke, especially sober!! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  2. conancolby Says:

    This is really Peggy and Samantha not Anthony. Samantha would do My Maria by Brooks and Dunn, Ring of Fire by Johnny Cash.
    I would do Delta Dawn by Tanya Tucker, oh wait I have totally done that one to death! I would attempt I’ll Fly Away. Then we would do a rousing duet of Shania Twain’s I Feel Like a Woman!

    • LenaDeeAnne Says:

      “I’ll Fly Away” as in the church song? Or is there another song by that title I don’t know? It’s so cool that you’ve done karaoke before. My Shannon wanted to have their birthday party at the karaoke place in one of the malls in OKC but she was outvoted. “I Feel Like a Woman” would be a good one, although I’m not wild about Shania. Thanks for reading me, you guys! Love ya!

  3. Scott Says:

    Id do early stuff by Alabama. Well, anything hillbilly-ish with a lot of good fiddle. Never karaoke’d before though. I don’t think I could do it sober or drunk. Maybe after a couple drinks or a 6 pack.. or both, Lol..

    • LenaDeeAnne Says:

      Scott- of course you could, and I doubt you’d have to have alcoholic reinforcement! Remember when you were in the vocal music plays in like 7th, 8th, 9th grade? Wasn’t there a talent show where you played guitar? Did you sing, too- I don’t remember. I couldn’t hear it that well, I think. Anyway, you could definitely do it. You love music! Thanks for reading, btw!

  4. boredokie Says:

    Well when you make it big my dear, don’t forget about free tickets for us little folk…lol

  5. Amanda Says:

    Jaree and I sang “Through the Eyes of Love” at Brandi’s wedding. Then I sang it as a solo at another wedding. At karaoke I sang “Watch Me” by Lori Morgan and “Mouth” by Meril Bainbridge. I also sang a bunch of duets at church and one solo.

    I think that Scott did his own arrangement of “Time After Time” by Cyndi Lauper at the school talent show. I know he can sing because he was in choir with me forever.


Leave a Reply

