The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Calgon, Take Me Away! February 23, 2010

Filed under: Kid Kraziness,Parenting Perils,Victories!,Whatever — DDKlingonGirl @ 11:43 pm

Hello all.  Tonight was very difficult, but I think overall I handled things well.  The biggest problem was that when I finally got home from work, after having gone to the grocery store and dragging in a bunch of food, I discovered that the girls had not done a single thing I had told them to in the note I left them!  Grrr.  Not a happy camper.  So instead of doing it all myself or getting mad, I explained to them that I was trying to teach them responsibility, and that they would have a hard time in the world if I let them get away with this kind of crap.  Then I simply made them turn off the PS3 game and the computer that they were playing on, and made them get up and do what I had told them to do!  I went right down the list I had left in their note, assigned specific tasks to each of them, and then I was going to go get supper made.

I say ‘was’ because The Boy was In. A. Mood.  He didn’t want to help with chores.  He said he was tooooo tired.  So I sat at the table with him and tried to make him tackle the Pike’s Peak-sized mountain of homework he has accumulated.  (Stressing out here, folks.  Seriously.  I don’t know how on earth he is going to be advanced to the next grade, and if he’s held back this year, he’ll be 20 when he graduates!) 

Anyway.  Was struggling to get him to work.  There was screaming and crying and glaring and teeth-grinding.  The Boy wasn’t happy either.  (Kidding.  I didn’t cry.  He, on the other hand, was wailing and begging to be sent to Grandma’s house.  I tried to make him see that Grandma’s house would be no different, but he didn’t seem to think so.) Anyway…

Then I finally decided he needed some counting objects to use to help with his math work.  I went to the kitchen to look for something to use, and discovered a flood of water pouring from the cabinet under the sink.  Opened the doors, and everything under there was sitting in a half-inch of water.  (Just a little background here- I discovered a week or two ago that my kitchen sink pipes were either incorrectly installed or have been somehow damaged since installation, and that there is a gap between the pipe coming out of the rinsing sink and the pipe it connects to.  Upon discovering this unfortunate fact, I told the kids not to run water in that sink.  If absolutely necessary, run water slowly in it, but not at full blast.)

So one of daughter J’s chores was to clean off and scrub off the dining room table, wash it and dry it.  Completely forgetting the pipe issue, she had run hot soapy water in the rinsing sink to get her table-washing cloth ready and it had all run down under the cabinet.  Everything was soggy:  WalMart bags, tools, scouring pads, cleaning supplies, and mouse killer.  (Sorry, animal-lovers.  They carry diseases, ok?)

So I began cleaning that up.  Right before that, I had told the girls to come scrounge through the fridge and find something to fix everyone for supper, because I was going to have to stay at the table to supervise The Boy.  Daughter S. walked into the kitchen, opened the fridge and freezer, stood there staring into it for a minute, then shut it and turned and left the room!

So I’d been working with The Boy, then cleaning up the Great Flood caper, and there STILL hadn’t been any supper started!  I found a canister of commodity peanuts to use for his counting objects for math, and told the girls if they wanted any supper, they’d better get their butts in there and figure something out!  Finally, they put some pizza rolls in the microwave and some pizzas in the oven, and supper was underway.  Too bad it was only about 8:oo or so by this point!!

Son finally calmed down when we started using the peanuts to count with, and he managed to get a couple of pages done.  (This morning he was trying to convince me that his teacher had told him to stay home from school until he was caught up on his homework.  Total wishful thinking on his part, and Mommy wasn’t born yesterday.)

Then SuperWoman showed up, AKA my Mom.  I had called her in desperation earlier when I was beginning to think I couldn’t handle my screaming son, my stomping, slamming, evil-eye-giving daughters, and my soggy floor another second.  Actually, what I called her for was to see if she could tighten the pipe ring thingy while I lifted up on it or something.  Mom checked out the pipe situation, and what we discovered was that the pipe didn’t even have threads so that it could be tightened.  Whoever did the plumbing was either extremely stupid, extremely lazy, or both. 

So my dear sweet mother managed to lift the pipe and stick some stuff under it that would hold it up high and keep the two pieces together so that the water wouldn’t leak from between them.  She tested it out and it seems to have done the trick.  No leakage.  The compromise is, I have a milk jug upended in an ice cream bucket stuck under my sink holding my pipes up!  SIGH!!!!   But you know what?  I’m not sure I care, as long as there is not a flood under my sink. 

For my own supper, I stuck a couple of herb-breaded frozen fish fillets on the same pan with with one of the pizzas and stuck some broccoli and Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice in the microwave and called it good. The Boy didn’t even end up eating the pizza his sisters had put in the oven for him.  He opened a can of spaghettios before the pizzas were ever finished. 

Anyway, now they’re in bed, and I am getting really tired, and I just remembered my bed isn’t even made.  I had to wash the sheets this morning because The Boy wet them.

On top of everything else,  I took a mega-dose of Vitamin C a while ago to try to fight off what I think is a cold about to come on.  I woke up with a sore throat this morning and was all snuffy and sniffly earlier this evening.  Hoping it works.  Grammy always swore by it. 

Was so excited about my weight loss this week!  Lost another 3.4 which puts me at 16 total!  I was actually pretty surprised, because I didn’t expect to have done that well, but I’m happy.  Now I’ve just gotta keep going. 

Stay tuned for my next entry, in which I will detail a travel dilemma and yet another job possibility.  This one makes my heart beat fast and my tummy tickle just thinking about it! 

Until next time,

D.

 

2 Responses to “Calgon, Take Me Away!”

  1. debbie Says:

    I love you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Peggy Says:

    Awesome blossom!


Leave a Reply

