The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Why Can’t I Think of a Good Title for This One?! February 14, 2010

Filed under: Food is a Four Letter Word,Looking Forward,Weight Woes — DDKlingonGirl @ 11:13 pm

Hello all!  I hope everyone has had a good Valentines Day weekend.  I have been busy trying to completely blow Weight Watchers out of the water in a single 72 hour period!  “Why, D., how could you completely ruin all your efforts in one weekend,” you ask?  Well, it’s like this.

 On Friday night had been thinking of doing something fun with the kids, but we lost too much time to my mom’s Camp Fire candy sale at the Mall.  (More on that in a moment.)  So instead of taking them out, I made plans to do something with them the next night after work.  I rented them some videos, bought a couple pizzas for them, and then I went out to El Tapatio with my dearly departed husband!  (No, I didn’t have tacos with a ghost, we’re just separated.)  I had grilled chicken, topped with onions and mushrooms.  Might not have been so bad, except for the rice and refried beans I ate with it, and the guacamole, and the sour cream, and the tortilla chips, salsa, and queso.  And just for kicks, a pina colada. 

And then last night, the girls and I went out.  My beautiful 16 year old twin daughters and I had a mother-daughter night, for which we were long overdue, and we had a great time.  We went to our favorite Chinese food place, Founda’s.  There I had stir-fried vegetables with light sauce, chicken, one eggroll, about 1/3 cup of rice, and a fortune cookie.  Afterwards we went to the movies and saw Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.  It was really good.  I thought I wouldn’t like it, but it was really well balanced- emotion, action, adventure.  It seemed pretty well acted to me, but maybe I’m not exactly a discerning viewer.  Anyway… we laughed and had a good time, even though I had to sit across the aisle from the girls. 

Tonight, well… we had our traditional catered dinner at church for a Valentine’s Day fellowship, and I ate two ribs, three thin slices of brisket, about 1/2 c. each of potato salad and baked beans, and a large serving of salad with light dressing.  For dessert I had one Nestle Tollhouse cookie, one small sugar cookie, one little cookie-cup thing, and a thin slice of cake.  Yeah, went overboard there.  My mother took the time to make me a sugar free jello dessert and I didn’t even eat it.  I feel like such an ungrateful brat.  Anyway… so now I’m hoping I can keep from wanting to kill myself if I have a gain for this week.  My Weight Watchers meeting is Tuesday at 9:30.  I don’t know if I can eat well enough between now and then to make this Bacchanalian weekend not hurt me! 

On the other hand, I just remembered that I scheduled something else on Tuesday at 10:00, so maybe I’ll skip the morning WW meeting and go to the evening one instead.  Are you ready for this?! I have an interview to possibly be a feature writer for my local newspaper!  I’m very excited, but a little concerned.  I don’t know what I’d write about.  The way the lady talked on the phone, I would probably have to come up with my own ideas and leads for stories.  Just covering local interest things, events, etc.  I’ve been trying to work through in my head a story about my mother and her Camp Fire kids.  They’re selling candy, but she’s also trying to teach them about patriotism and supporting our troops.  A few weeks ago they wrote letters to soldiers, and this past week she was going to take them to the Veterans’ Center to hand out Valentines, but the weather got bad.  I was going to write up this story and take it with me when I go to the interview, to give them an idea of my skillz.  I may try to come up with something else, though.  It will be so great if I get the job, to have a real by-line in the paper, and be published and be able to say I’m a professional writer!  I may only make $30 a story, but I don’t care- it will be fun!  Wish me luck, everybody!

Until next time,

D.

 

2 Responses to “Why Can’t I Think of a Good Title for This One?!”

  1. Leigh-Ann Says:

    Good Luck Deanne on the interview. You deserve it! Don’t give up on WW either. You can have a bad weekend and still keep going. Leigh-Ann

  2. LenaDeeAnne Says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, LeighAnn! For reading me, and for the encouragement! I really appreciate both. I’m going to try really hard to stay on track on WW. I know it will be worth it in the end. I have another motivating possibility that I’ll write about soon in a future entry… keep reading!

    D.


Leave a Reply

