The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Jekyll and Hyde and a Cast of Dozens February 9, 2010

Filed under: Fierce Woman Roaring,Looking Forward,Whatever — DDKlingonGirl @ 11:51 pm

Hello all.  Couple of things tonight.  First- I went to my Weight Watchers meeting.  Lost another 1.8 lbs.  Go me.  I’ve really got to get back into the exercising thing.  I did really well the week before last, but this past week- nada!  Well, ok, I did some arm work at UPS on Saturday, and I walked to the park and back with the kids on Sunday, but that was it.  I’m waiting to get my tax return back and then I’m buying a treadmill from my mother-in-law.  I forget I still have one of those sometimes.  Officially.  But we won’t start talking about that stuff, because then I will get bummed.  And me getting bummed would be a bad thing.  I’ve been in a good mood all evening, and I’m not about to ruin it now, just before time to go to bed.

I chatted on Facebook with my best friend all evening.  It was a really good talk.  I’ve decided I’m going to drive her absolutely insane bugging her to come to our 20-year class reunion this year.  She will.  She must.  This will happen.  I insist on it.  I have my ways, mwahahahaha!

Ok, Mr. Hyde, back in the closet.  So after the Weight Watchers meeting, I went to WalMart.  I bought healthy food like grapes and apples and reduced calorie bread and turkey burger.  (We’ll see what happens when I try to sneak THAT past the kids!)  I saw several people I knew at WalMart, and one person in particular started me thinking.  Even though I saw this person from across the parking lot, I still considered it an encounter of sorts, and I have to admit, I do not like to encounter this person.  As I was getting in my car and leaving, I have to confess that I, under my breath and totally to myself, called this person many foul names and seriously considered sideswiping this person’s vehicle in hopes of doing bodily damage while this person was standing outside the door.  I don’t really feel too badly for it.  I feel like this person failed me, damaged me, let me down in every possible way.  (And no, it wasn’t RMB.) 

But what it got me thinking about was my future.  I made up my mind to something tonight.  I will teach again.  I will apply at the schools I would like to work for, and I will get a job at one of them.  Maybe not this next school year because the economy’s tough, and that’s ok.  But I will go back to it.  I will prove to myself and anyone who’s interested that I can and will be a good teacher.   Just watch me!  I had somebody tell me tonight that being an English/Literature teacher was what I was born to do, and I thought, ‘You know what?  You’re darn right!’  There maybe have been other things I was also born to do, but teaching English is right up there.  I just have to find the right place.  Whether it’s high school or college, I know I am supposed to be a teacher.  I even got a head start on interviews.  While I was driving home, I started practicing my answers to some common interview questions, and I’m going to keep doing that until I get them perfectly refined, and then I’ll be ready when the interview I want comes my way! 

Of course, I’m not giving up on writing, either.  Writing has always been my first love, so don’t anybody even think you’re going to get out of reading my blog anytime soon!  You’re in this for the long haul, and I couldn’t be happier to have you along for the ride! 

Until next time,

D.

 

Leave a Reply

