The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

Paranoia and Pod-People January 27, 2010

Filed under: Weight Woes — DDKlingonGirl @ 4:36 pm

Hello all.  Yesterday I had the first ever moment in my life when I thought I might have been developing schizophrenia.  I was listening to my iTunes, messing around on the computer.  Nothing remarkable in that except that every once in a while I would hear this whisper-y noise over the music I was playing.  I finally decided maybe it was something in the music itself, or the fact that I had the laptop right up against my stomach, so maybe it was muffled.  Either way, it was scary.  Realistically, I guess people who are developing a disorder like schizophrenia aren’t worried that they are.  Do they realize what’s happening to them when it happens, or do they just sink into it, blissfully unaware? 

Now, about the Pod-People.  I woke up earlier than usual this morning, before the alarm went off.  I had to pee, as usual, but what really shocked me was that I was actually lying there debating whether I could make myself get up, get dressed, and go for a walk before I woke up the kids for school.  Now let me be clear:  THIS IS NOT ME!  This is not my norm.  I have never been a hopping, skipping, jumping up and down, running in place kind of person.  So the only explanation I could come up with as to why I was lying in bed at 6 a.m. actually considering getting up and exercising was that I had been abducted by The Pod People!  (Who am I and what did I do with myself!?)

Seriously though, I like the feeling.  I like the idea that I could begin to enjoy moving my body and working my lungs, and feeling the blood rush through my veins a little faster, and maybe even feeling a little divine.  It’s going to be hard, I know.  I’m going to have to force myself to listen to my “Inner Exerciser,” tiny as that voice might be, and actually go along with her, until I get in the habit of it.  The urges are there, I just have to learn how to not ignore them!

Weight Loss progress:  Week 1- minus 6.6 lbs.  Woo hoo!  Now I’m off to exercise!

Until next time,

D.

 

2 Responses to “Paranoia and Pod-People”

  1. LenaDeeAnne Says:

    PS- I’m actually getting the hang of this exercise thing! I actually got up this morning, BEFORE the kids got up, and went for a walk! Walked 20 minutes, came home, did some leg lifts and stuff, and then ate a textbook-healthy breakfast! Yippee! So proud!

  2. Toes Says:

    Congrats, congrats, I’m very proud of your new found urges to get get up and move! Two sisters down, one more to go on the journey of exercise enjoyment!


Leave a Reply

