The Therapy Journals of the Fat-Headed Klingon Woman

One woman's journey to becoming Her True Self

The Rest of the Story… January 22, 2010

Filed under: General Observations — DDKlingonGirl @ 5:07 am

Hello all.  Earlier today after I posted here, I went to work and spent much of the day thinking about this new chapter in my writing career.  I seemed to be flooded with ideas and topics to include in future entries, and the different ways I could write about them.

One thing I’d like to do is to say a little bit about what this blog is not.  I do not see myself as strictly a “Mommy” blogger.  I won’t be devoting entries to topics like diapers and drool, or teething and naptimes, not that there’s anything wrong with those topics.  It’s just that my kids are well past that stage.  If this whole blogging thing had been available back in ’93 when the girls were born, you can bet your sweet Aunt Fanny I’d have been throwing those topics around like frisbees. 

However, since I’m currently helping my 16 year old girls navigate tricky issues like driving lessons, dating, acne, braces, and peer pressure, you can bet these will provide plenty of writing material.  On the other hand, my 8 year old son is an entirely different animal.  He’s in second grade, and his interests run more toward things like faulty bicycle chains, pushy little neighborhood girls, man-eating dinosaurs (Thank you, Jurassic Park) and the World of Bakugan.  He’s also been diagnosed with ADHD-Combined Type and has a lot of anger that tends to come out at the worst times. 

This blog is also not meant to be just about mothering, but about being a woman in general, and facing the struggles, conflicts, and triumphs we all have in life.  The topics are endless- relationships, careers, self-discovery, faith and religion, fears and desires, just to name a few.  There are plenty of women out there who are asking themselves the same questions as I am, and I’m hoping to share my answers and hear some of yours as well. 

I hope to occasionally include creative writing pieces such as short stories and poems along with the topical, issues-based entries and the sharing of the daily grind.  I also promise to keep my enthusiasm in check and not update more than once a day.  After today.  Maybe.

Anyway, the point is, this blog will have a little bit of everything, hopefully tied together with humor and sass.  For those faithful friends who will be reading me here after reading my Myspace and Facebook entries for the last year or so, I apologize if some things sound familiar.  I will probably be adding and taking away, re-working and re-imagining some of the work I did at those sites, to build this blog up more quickly.

I’ll close tonight’s post with my Son’s latest classic.  He can be such a funny kid.  Yesterday when I was driving him to school, I was giving him Mom Lecture #284, about getting his homework done.  It goes something like this:  “Son, you have got to get your homework done in school!  I know you don’t like it, but you just have to, and if you don’t get it done at school, you have to do it as soon as you come home!  I don’t know why I have to tell you this over and over and over again.”  Without missing a beat, he piped up and matter-of-factly said, “That’s just what grown-ups do!”

Until next time,

D.

 

One Response to “The Rest of the Story…”

  1. […] come, but I didn’t really touch on my specific goals and dreams for this year.  Last year I wrote that I wanted 2010 to be a year of transformation.  Primarily, I wanted to transform my very obese […]


Leave a Reply

